Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Epstein mss., 1944-1970, consist of the correspondence, teaching files, and writings of Fritz Theodor Epstein, 1898-1979, historian.

Fritz Epstein was born in Saargemuend, Germany in 1898, received a PhD in history from the University of Berlin in 1924 and moved to London in 1933, then the United States in 1936 to escape Nazi persecution. He served as a faculty member at Harvard University, 1937-1943, worked for the U.S. State Department for a time, became Curator of the Central European and Slavic Collections at Hoover Institution, Stanford University, and in 1962 joined the faculty of Indiana University as professor and curator of the Slavic collections. Epstein retired in 1969 and returned to Germany to live.

The collection contains his correspondence with many historians, academic journals, and institutions relating to research for his own writings and on behalf of the Indiana University Libraries collections; files relating to professional meetings, organizations, and publications; materials from his teaching years at Harvard, from his State Department work, from his years at the Hoover Institution, and relating to his summer exchange courses at Hamburg University during the late 1960's.

Correspondents in the collection include Gustave Alef, Norbert Angermann, Margret A. Boveri, Robert Francis Byrnes, Gordon Alexander Craig, Alexander Dallin, Eugene Arthur Davidson, Charles Floyd Delzell, Chester Verne Easum, Georg Eckert, Fritz Theodore Epstein, Fritz Fischer, George Fischer, Willard Allen Fletcher, Hans Wilhelm Gatzke, Jacques Grunewald, Oron James Hale, George Wolfgang Felix Hallgarten, Erwin Hoelzle, Hajo Holborn, Walther Hubatsch, Milan Ivsic, Hans Adolf Jacobsen, Barbara Brightfield Jelavich, Charles Jelavich, Yeshayahu Andrew Jelinek, Louis de Jong, Harro Kieser, Walther Kirchner, Robert Lewis Koehl, Walter Lipgens, Alma Maria Luckau, Werner Markert, Klaus Mehnert, Freidrich Meinecke, Boris Meissner, Henry Cord Meyer, Henri Jules Michel, Wolfgang Mitter, Guenther Moltmann, Charles Morley, Philip Edward Mosely, George Bernard Noble, Dagmar Horna Perman, Werner Philipp, Georg von Rauch, Kurt Rheindorf, Gotthold Rhode, Hans Rothfels, Radmila R. Savic, Hildegard Schaeder, Peter Scheibert, Otto Ernst Schüddenkopf, Klaus Schwabe, William Lawrence Shirer, John Leslie Snell, Raymond James Sontag, Bertold Spuler, Paul Robinson Sweet, Annelise Thimme, Johannes Ullrich, Klemens von Klemperer, and Gerhard Ludwig Weinberg.

The collection is arranged alphabetically in files as Epstein had them labeled. A box and folder list is available.

Transferred from Main Library, Indiana University, Bloomington. 1978

Collection size: 16,500 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.