Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Hack mss., 1906-1959, are the papers of Elizabeth Jane Miller, 1878-1961, born near New Ross, Indiana. In 1908 she married Oren Stephen Hack, an Indianapolis attorney who died in 1942. Her four published novels were The Yoke in 1904, Saul of Tarsus in 1906, The City of Delight in 1908, and Daybreak in 1915, all issued under her maiden name.

Correspondents include Amos William Butler and Carrie Belle (Tyler) Fenton. Writings include book reviews, drama, garden column notes, short stories, speeches and longer works. The longer writings include multiple drafts of several novels, often rewritten under different titles, a mixture of holograph, typed, and carbon copies, most of which appear to be unpublished.

The collection is organized into the following series: I. Biographical materials, II. Correspondence, III. Writings, IV. Miscellaneous. An inventory of the collection is available.

Additional materials for Elizabeth Jane Miller are located in the Bobbs-Merrill mss., 1906-1936.

Gift. Robert Russo. The Hoosier Bookshop, Indianapolis, Indiana. 1977

Collection size: 76 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.