Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Harper & Brothers mss., 1885-1901, consist chiefly of correspondence dealing with infringement of copyright in the United States and foreign countries on books of Lewis Wallace, 1827-1905, diplomat and author, and Fridtjof Nansen, 1861-1930, explorer, published by Harper & Brothers. There is also some correspondence with Klaw and Erlanger on the dramatiziation of Ben Hur.

J. & J. Harper was founded in March 1817 by James and John Harper. In 1833 the name of the company was changed to Harper & Brothers.

Among the correspondents represented in the collection are William Worthen Appleton, Simon Brentano, George Platt Brett, Holmes Conrad, Charles Stebbins Fairchild, Montaville Flowers, Charles Frohman, Augustus T. Gurlitz, Charles Hallberger, Charles Sumner Hamlin, Joseph Wesley Harper, Jr., Theo. A. Jasper, Robert Underwood Johnson, Aloysius Koudelka, Henry Charles Lea, Fred A. Nast, George Haven Putnam, Ainsworth Rand Spofford, A.T. Stewart, Henry Lane Wallace, Lewis Wallace, and Mrs. Susan Arnold (Elston) Wallace.

Collection size: 410 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.