Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The I.U. Libraries Media Center mss., 1967-1972, consist of correspondence related to the acquisition of copies of Library of Congress tapes of poets reading their own works for use in the Listening Room and the Language Laboratory of Indiana University at Bloomington, Indiana. Carol Joyce Brown was the librarian in charge of the project of obtaining the proper permissions from the poets. The replies vary from simple acknowledgements to brief accounts of recent literary activities.

The correspondents are Kingsley Amis, Lee Anderson, George Barker, Carol Joyce Brown, Cecil Kash Byrd, William Rea Cagle, Padraic Colum, Max Eastman, Richard Eberhart, Theodore Enslin, Christorpher Murray Grieve, Elizabeth Hardwick, Mary Eloise (von Schrader) Jarrell, Donnan Call Jeffers, LeRoi Jones, James Kirkup, Kenneth Koch, Robert Hunt Land, James Laughlin, Else Beylegaard (Petersen) Lorch, Frank Magro, James Merrill, Howard Nemerov, Philip Lawson Nesbeitt, Henry Rago, Kenneth Rexroth, Ivor Armstrong Richards, John Roberts, Muriel Rukeyser, May Sarton, Anne (Harvey) Sexton, Francis Trajan Sacheverell Sitwell, William DeWitt Snodgrass, Stephen Spender, May Swenson, John Barrington Wain, Gwendoline Mayr (Davies) Watkins, John Hall Wheelock.

Collection size: 47 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.