Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Johnson, W. S. mss., 1846-1894, are letters to William Spencer Johnson, 1813-1897, printer, from actors, actresses, artists, musicians, editors, authors, journalists, and statesmen. Included are also some photographs of actors and actresses.

Among the correspondents are Edward Phillips Addison, Emma Albertazzi, Sir Squire Bancroft Bancroft, Walter Bernard, Paul Bedford, George Belmore, Dion Boucicault, Lionel Brough, John Brougham, John Baldwin Buckstone, Alfred Bunn, Henry James Byron, Ada Cavendish, Celine Celeste, Mrs. Louisa (Simeon) Chatterly, Charles Dickens, 1812-1870, Charles Dickens, 1837-1896, Virginia E. Elliott, William Farren, Sir John Gilbert, Keeley Halswelle, Sir George Hayter, Sir Henry Irving, David James, Edwin John James, Louis John Jennings, Sir George Johnson, A. Keppler, Harriette Georgiana (Webster) Lawson, Mark Lemon, Charles Mackay, George William Martin, Helena Saville (Faucit) Martin, Charles James Mathews, John Maxwell, Mrs. Sarah Jane (Woolgar) Mellon, Henry James Montague, John Oxenford, Samuel Phelps, Robert Reece, Mrs. Emma (Lucombe) Reeves, Charles Gordon Lennox, 5th Duke of Richmond, Albert Richard Smith, Charles Smith, Mrs. Mary Lucy (Keeley) Smith, Samuel Smith, Charles Haddon Spurgeon, Arthur Stirling, William Frederick Campbell, 2d Baron Stratheden, Frederick Guest Tomlins, John Lawrence Toole, Sir Charles Edward Trevelyan, Kate Vaughan, Sir Francis Wyatt Truscott, Alfred Glenville Vance, George J. Vining, William Vincent Wallace, Walter Watts, Georgiana Weldon, Alfred Sydney Wigan, Charles Anderson Worsley, 2d Earl of Yarborough, Edmund Yates, and Mrs. Elizabeth (Brunton) Yates.

Collection size: 129 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.