Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Joseph the Provider mss., 1970-1997, are the correspondence and business files of the book selling firm Joseph the Provider, owned and operated by Ralph Bruno Sipper, 1932- , of Santa Barbara, California.

The collection is organized into the following series: I. History; II. Correspondence; III. Printed; IV. Business records. An inventory is available.

The collection includes a history of the business written by Ralph Bruno Sipper in January 1980, photocopies of articles and reviews written by Sipper for various newspapers and magazines, as well as copies of catalogues issued by the firm, invoices and receipts.

Correspondents include: David Antin, Deirdre Bair, Donald Barthelme, Rexford Stuart Beckham, Samuel Beckett, Douglas Blazek, Kay Boyle, William Warren Bradley, Charles Bukowsky, Sandor Burstein, William Rea Cagle, Robert Emmett Cantwell, Arthur Allen Cohen, Evan Shelby Connell, Jack Conroy, Seamus Cooney, Cecil Dawkins, James Den Boer, Leon Edel, Clayton Eshleman, William Oliver Everson, David Robb Farmer, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Gloria Aileen Francis, Gisele Freund, Bernardine Szold Fritz, William Campbell Gault, Herbert Gold, William Gerald Golding, Robert Gover, Shirley Ann Grau, Doris Isaac Grumbach, Pete Hamill, Archibald Hanna, William Heyen, William Gustave Johnson, Robert Kelly, John Sicher van Eiser Kohn, John Herrold Lancaster, Gary M. Lepper, Richard Gordon Lillard, Robert James Lowry, Robie Mayhew Macauley, Bernard Malamud, Larry McMurtry, Ellsworth Goodwin Mason, Nina Woo Matheson, William John Matheson, William Morris Meredith, Kenneth Millar, Henry Miller, Jessica Mitford, Hugh S. Moorhead, Victor Novak, Flannery O'Connor, Joel Oppenheimer, David H. Ossman, Otto M. Penzler, Lawrence Clark Powell, James Purdy, Carl Rakosi, Dean Edward Riggs, Anthony Rota, Louis Decimus Rubin, Richard Wright Ryan, John B. Sanford, Arthur Seidenbaum, Earl Shorris, George F. Sims, Ralph Bruno Sipper, John Edwin Smith, Thomas F. Staley, Noel Stock, Carl Frederick Stover, Robert Coyle Sullivan, Julian Symons, John Hoyer Updike, Diane Wakoski, John William Warner, Theodore Russell Weiss, Eudora Welty, Stanley Wertheim. Consult the Manuscripts Index in the Library for dates of letters of individual correspondents.

Gift. 1979-2002

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.