Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The McClure mss. IV, 1884-1922, consist of letters to Samuel Sidney McClure, 1857-1949, editor, and to a few of his associates, from editors, artists, journalists, politicians, and literary figures concerning articles for McClure's Magazine.

Among the correspondents are John Joseph A'Becket, Charles Kendall Adams, George Areliss, Mrs. Harriet (Hubbard) Ayer, Ray Stannard Baker, Mrs. Amelia Edith (Hudleston) Barr, Mme. Marie Therese (de Solms) Blanc, Cyrus Townsend Brady, Phillips Brooks, Henry Cuyler Bunner, George Washington Cable, Mrs. Sara Jeannete (Duncan) Cotes, Mrs. Jane (Cunningham) Croly, George William Curtis, William Eleroy Curtis, Charles Anderson Dana, Mrs. Helen (Burrell) D'Apery, Edward Eggleston, Edward Everett Hale, Isabel Florence Hapgood, Julian Hawthorne, Frederick Goodrich Henke, Mrs. Ella (Rhoads) Higginson, Thomas Tentworth Higginson, Mrs. Katharine (Tynan) Hinkson, Marietta Holley, Jennie, V. Hughes, John James Ingalls, Jerome Klapka Jerome, George Henry Jessop, Mrs. Dora (Wheeler) Keith, Mrs. Miriam Florence (Folline) Leslie, Henry Cabot Lodge, Will Hicok Low, Brander Matthews, Mrs. Harriet (Mann) Miller, Mrs. Louise (Chandler) Moulton, Mrs. Kathleen (Thompson) Norris, James Parton, Nora Perry, Edward John Phelps, John Sanburn Phillips, Josephine Pollard, Henry Codman Potter, Mrs. Eliza Anna (Farman) Pratt, William Henry Rideing, Edward Payson Roe, Mrs. Margaret Elizabeth (Munson) Sangster, Theodore Stanton, William James Stillman, Frank Richard Stockton, Ida Minerva Tarbell, Robert Henry Thurston, John Townsend Trowbridge, Mrs. Edith (Sessions) Tupper, Henry Van Dyke, Mrs. Susan Arnold (Elston) Wallace, Mrs. Elizabeth Stuart (Phelps) Ward, Herbert Dickinson Ward, Andrew Dickson White, and Mrs. Ella (Wheeler) Wilcox.

Collection size: 100 items

Related manuscripts: McClure mss., McClure mss. II, McClure mss. III, McClure mss. V, McClure mss. VI

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.