Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The McVitty mss., 1952-1960, consist of the papers of Marion (Hazard) Etcheverry McVitty, 1911-1971, United Nations observer, in relation to her work in the United World Federalist movement. She was an accredited observer at the United Nations for the UWF, chairman of the World Movement's UN Charter Revision Committee, chairman of the UN Liaison Committee of the World Association, and a member of the Executive Committee of the Conference Group of the U.S. Organizations for the United Nations. In this connection, she had a list of 80 or 90 persons whom she kept informed as to what was happening in various places where groups were studying Charter Revision. In addition, reports were gotten out to 125 individuals on issues of particular importance to their specific governments. Chief topics of concern were the UN Charter Revision in 1952-1955, the Suez Canal problem in 1956, the UN Emergency Force in 1956-1960, and Disarmament as an overriding topic at all times.

Among the correspondents are Aase Anderson, Patrick Armstrong, Cesar Barros Hurtado, Gunnar Bellander, Eugenio Coelshi, Philippe Compte, Maurice R. Cosyn, Alan Cranston, Ugo Damiani, Clement Davies, Lawrence Stanley Finkelstein, Erling Fischer, Athanasios Georgiades, Hubert Miles Gladwyn Jebb, baron Gladwyn, Max Habicht, Per Haekkerup, Donald Harrington, Mahmoud Hassan, Harold Harris Healy, Arthur Henderson, Harry B. Hollins III, George C. Holt, Michael L. Howard, Morikatsu Inagaki, Lucy Law, John J. Logue, Maclean W. McLean, Martin Maddan, Knud Nielsen, George Papadopoulous, John Pinder, Sir Isaac James Pitman, Stanley K. Platt, Reinhard Radermacher, Sir Sarvepalli Radhakrishman, Douglas Robinson, Hyunchyung Shin, Helen A. Shuford, Louis Bruno Sohn, Jerome H. Spingarn, Conrado Traverso, James J. Wadsworth, Sir Thomas Cliffton Webb, Sungsoo Whang, H. Donald Wilson, Mrs. G. A. Wrenshall.

Countries represented are Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, India, Iran Italy, Japan, Korea, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Sweden, Switzerland, Vietnam.

Included in the materials are Mrs. McVitty's Reports as an UN Observer for 1954-1959 with two tapes for the report of December 5, 1959; Claude Maxwell Stanley's testimony for the Senate Sub-committee on Disarmament; Television scripts entitled The Eight Steps to Peace, mimeographed copy, nos. 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, accompanied by a typewritten copy with a few holograph corrections of no. 1 (World Law); Robert Jackman's rough draft of a TV script; and UWF TV Ideas by Mrs. McVitty, no. 1 - From Crisis to Crisis, no. 2 - The Thin Blue Line, no. 3 - Divided We Fall, no. 4 - Conference Fable.

Printed materials are mimeographed articles and reports for 1952-1959; papers by Charles A. Canon, Leland Goodrich, Paul H. Nitze, Charles P. Noyes, Richard L. Plunkett, Stephen M. Schwebel, and Claude Maxwell Stanley; Ninth Annual General Assembly of the United World Federalists.

Collection size: 344 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.