Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The McWhirter, Mrs. F.T. mss., 1840-1979, are papers of Luella Frances (Smith) McWhirter (Mrs. Felix Tony McWhirter), 1859-1952, clubwoman.

Career: born October 1, 1859 at Perrysville, Vermillion County, Indiana; daughter of the Reverend Hezekiah Smith and Susan Davis (Marsters) Smith; educated at East Tennessee Wesleyan College, Athens, Tennessee, and DePauw University; married Felix Tony McWhirter, November 18, 1878; following marriage resided at Athens, Tennessee and Greencastle, Indiana, where Mr. McWhirter was member of the English Department of DePauw University; moved to Indianapolis, 1888; Indiana W.C.T.U. treasurer, 1893-1896, president, 1896-1900, trustee, 1927-1937 and 1940, honorary president, 1940-1952, editor, The Message, official paper of the Indiana W.C.T.U., 1897-1913 and 1919-1945; director, Peoples' State Bank of Indianapolis, 1900-1936; president, Woman's Research Club, 1907-1909; appointed to represent Indiana in Congress of Mothers, Washington, D.C., 1908; president, seventh [Indiana] Federation of Clubs, 1911; Indiana Federation of Clubs, president, 1911-1913, honorary president, 1938-1952, chairman, American Home Department, 1924-1927, organizer, War Victory Commission, 1916-1918; one of organizers, Woman's Franchise League of Indiana, vice-president, 1911; founder, Woman's Department Club of Indianapolis, 1912, president, 1922-1926; General Federation of Women's Clubs, president, State Presidents' Club, 1912, director for Indiana, 1916-1920, transportation chairman, 1916-1924, chairman, War Victory Commission, chairman, Extension Department, 1925-1927, trustee, 1932-1938, chairman, Federation Foundation Fund for six Midwest states; president, Legislative Council of Indiana Women, 1917; vice-president, Indiana Dry Federation, 1917; trustee, 1917-1945, Robert W. Long College for Women (to be established); director, United States Good Roads, 1918-1920; chairman, Indianapolis drive for building funds, Women's Union Christian Colleges in the Orient, 1922; president, Indiana Conference Deaconess Board, Methodist Episcopal Church, 1926-1937; member, President's Conference on Home Building and Home Ownership, 1931-1932; chairman, Woman's Loyalty Committee for Indiana, United Protestant Church Loyalty Crusade, 1932; Indiana White Cross Guild, Methodist Hospital, Indianapolis, president, 1932-1934, president emeritus, 1934-1952; member, Jury of award on Model Homes of Indiana, Federal Housing Administration, 1936; National League of American Pen Women, charter member and vice-president for Indiana branch, 1936-1938; regional mother, Golden Rule Foundation, 1942; trustee, Taylor University; historian, May Wright Sewall State Council of Women; member: Caroline Scott Harrison Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Society of Indiana Pioneers, Epsilon Sigma Omicron, Central Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church, Indianapolis, Indiana, Association of Parliamentarians, Woman's Press Club of Indiana; died, December 10, 1952. Biographical accounts of Mrs. McWhirter appear also in Blanche Foster Boruff's Women of Indiana... (Indianapolis, [c1941]), p. 199 and Mildred Marshall Scouller's Women Who Man Our Clubs... (Philadelphia, 1934), pp. 146-148.

The collection is organized into the following series: I. Subjects; II. Scrapbooks; III. Printed; IV. Photographs; V. Miscellaneous. An inventory is available.

The Subjects series contains correspondence, addresses, constitutions and by-laws, minutes of meetings, membership lists, histories of organizations, yearbooks, programs, and publicity materials.

Correspondents in the Subjects series include: Mildred (Carlson) Ahlgren, Albion (Fellows) Bacon, Bertha (Crosley) Ball, Arcada Campbell (Stark) Balz, Eliza A. (Cooper) Blaker, Ella Alexander Boole, Evangeline Cory Booth, Marie Caroline Brehm, William Lowe Bryan, Mary (Quick) Burnet, Amos William Butler, Nannie C. (Lucas) Canine, Eleanore Elliott Carroll, Grace (Julian) Clarke, Mamie (White) Colvin, Clara Ruth (Meid) Compton, Milton Conover, Sallie (Southall) Cotten, Lucy (Jennings) Dickinson, Nettie A. (Geiger) Downey, Saidie (Orr) Dunbar, Carrie Belle (Tyler) Fenton, Irving Fisher, Gerald Rudolph Ford, James Ford, William Fortune, James Putnam Goodrich, Anna Adams Gordon, John Matthew Gries, Lottie (Lyons) Grow, James Franklin Hanly, Rolla Neil Harger, Ida (Husted) Harper, Mary Garrett Hay, William Harrison Hays, Catharine (Spicer) Hitch, Herbert Hoover, Mary Hannah (Hanchett) Hunt, John Newell Hurty, Allan Jackson, Charles Bacon Jackson, Mrs. Haute (Tarkington) Jameson, Evelyn (Hageman) Jaqua, Rose Carolyn (Byers) Katterhenry, Helen Adams Keller, John Harvy Kellogg, Edward Joseph Kelly, Araminta (Cooper) Kern, Estella M. (Stiles) King, Helen (McCreadie) Knight, Robert Patterson Lamont, Roberta (Campbell) Lawson, Mary Ashton (Rice) Livermore, Katherine (Huber) Ludlow, Louis Leon Ludlow, Warren Terry McCray, Felix Tony McWhirter, Nancy Caroline (Tyree) McWhirter, Shailer Mathews, Mable (Warner) Millikan, James Atwell Mount, Harry Stewart New, Vida Newsom, R. Earl Peters, Grace (Smith) Pettijohn, Amelia Waring Platter, Anne (Carlisle) Porter, Bertha (Kelsey) Poston, Samuel Moffett Ralson, Anna Steese (Sausser) Richardson, Maude Ellen (Lucas) Rumpler, Elizabeth (Gunn) Seebirt, May (Wright) Sewall, Albert Shaw, Margaret (Espy) Vennedge Sheridan, Mary Belle (King) Sherman, Bettie M. Sipple, Hezekiah Smith, Mabel (Johnson) Smith, Rodney Smith, Susan Davis (Marsters) Smith, Elizabeth (Tipton) Stanley, Sara (Messing) Stern, Lillian M. N. (Ames) Stevens, Katharine Adelia (Lente) Stevenson, James Arthur Stuart, Milo H. Stuart, Thomas Taggart, Booth Tarkington, Susan (Davis) Taylor, Elizabeth Ione (McDonald) Thornburgh, M. Clifford Townsend, Phebe (Kerrick) Warner, James Eli Watson, William Allen White, Cora (Young) Wiles, Frances Elizabeth Willard, Vella Alberta Winner, Alice (Ames) Winter, Evans Woollen, William Watson Woollen, John Granville Wooley, and Rose Emmet Young. Consult the Manuscripts Index in the Library for dates and locations of letters of individual correspondents.

Gift. 1953-1974

Collection size: 2,315 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.