Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Ostrom, Elinor mss., ca. 1953-2011, consist of the papers, reprints, theses, publications, proposals, correspondence and reports of Elinor and Vincent Ostrom and the Workshop in Political Theory and Political Analysis. Awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 2009, "for her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons," Ostrom was first the first woman to be so honored. She shared the award with Oliver E. Williamson.

Born on August 7, 1933, in Los Angeles, CA to Adrian and Leah Awan, she received her B.S. (with honors) in political science from UCLA in 1954, her M.A. in 1962 and her Ph.D. in 1965 also from the UCLA Department of Political Science. She co-founded the Workshop in Political Theory and Analysis at Indiana University with her husband Vincent Ostrom in 1973.

Considered one of the leading scholars in the study of common pool resources, Ostrom's work examines how humans interact with ecosystems to maintain long-term sustainable resource yields and emphasizes the multi-faceted nature of human-ecosystem interactions.

Acquired: 2010-2011

Collection size: 57,000 items

NOTE: Access to this collection requires advance notice. Please contact the Curator of Manuscripts for additional information.

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.