Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Piercy, J.W. mss., 1889-1940, consist of letters and papers of Joseph William Piercy, 1866-1943, writer and professor of journalism, and his family. Most of the correspondence is with journals regarding submission of stories and articles for publication. Among the correspondents present are Albert Jeremiah Beveridge, Ernest Percy Bicknell, Scott Cardelle Bone, Robert Underwood Johnson, Eleanor Mercein Kelly, Mattie Stark Ketcham, Thomas Mann, Isaac Frederick Marcosson, Meredith Nicholson, Walter Hines Page, David Graham Phillips, and Ekin Wallick. Four souvenir items from the Inauguration of 1885: ticket no. 3687 for admission to the Capitol, a press pass for the reporter's gallery of the U.S. Senate, the Banquet menu, and an "Inauguration Ball Programme," complete the collection.

Collection size: 26 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.