Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Secker mss., 1894-1969, consist primarily of letters to publisher Martin Secker, 1882-1978, from various authors, illustrators, and acquaintances with whom he had business dealings. The majority of the material relates to three publishing firms with which he was associated: Martin Secker, Ltd., (1910-1936), The Richards Press, Ltd., (after 1937) and The Unicorn Press, Ltd., of which he continued as proprietor until his death. Among the correspondents are Alan Anderson; John Redwood Anderson; Terrence Ian Fytton Armstrong; Balint Stephen Biro; John Charles Edward Bowen; Mary Chevalita (Dunne) Bright; Sir Arthur Bryant; Daniel George Bunting; Coulson T. Cade; Sir Neville Cardus; John Waynflete Carter; Edward W. Colman; John Connell; John William Counsell; Rupert Croft-Cooke; Sir William Young Darling; Guy Stephen Deghy; Powell Edwards; John Farleigh; Hugh I'Anson Fausset; Patrick Michael Leigh Fermour; Marta Feuchtwanger; Constantine FitzGibbon; Kenelm Foss; Brian Fothergill; Elizabeth (Hollister) Frost; John Gloag; Douglas Goldring; Alyse Gregory; Felix Guggenheim; Sir William John Haley; Sir Julian Henry Hall; Hamish Hamilton; Sir Cecil Hanbury; Archie Harradine; Michael de Courcy Fraser Holroyd; Emil Otto Hoppe; Percival Presland Howe; Derek Rommel Hudson; Benjamin W. Huebsch; Harford Montgomery Hyde; Storm Jameson; Cecil Keeling; John Patrick Douglas Balfour, Baron Kinross; Alfred A. Knopf; Edward William Bootle-Wilbraham, Earl Lathom; Maria Xenia (de Tunzelman) Bootle-Wilbraham, Countess of Lathom; Gwendolyn Le Gallienne; Winifred M. Letts; Roger A. Lhombreaud; Stuart Petre Bordie Mais; Sir Edward Howard Marsh; John Nicolas Mavrogordato; Leonard Morgan May; Amy Gwen (Wilson) Mond, Lady Melchett; Mara Meulen; Sir Francis Meynell; Viola Meynell; Malcolm Muggeridge; Willa (Anderson) Muir; Gerald O'Donovan; Edith Maud Olivier; Hesketh Pearson; Alan Pryce-Jones; Francis Archibald Kelhead Douglas, Marquis of Queensberry; Grant Richards; Madelein Grant Richards; Michael B. Rubinstein; Alfred Patrick Ryan; Rafael Sabatini; Hon. Victoria Mary Sackville-West; Michael Sadleir; Martin Secker; Paul Selver; Geoffrey Smerdon; Sir John Collings Squire; Oliver Stonor; John Symonds; Julian Symons; Joseph Edward Harold Terry; Louis Tracy; Walter James Turner; Royall Tyler; Sir Stanley Unwin; John Cushing Varney; Rainforth Armitage Walker; Alexander Raban Waugh; Terence de Vere White; William Cecil James Philip John Paul Howard, Earl Wicklow; Norman Wilkinson; Sir Ormonde de l'Epee Winter; Cecil Woolf; and Francis Brett Young.

Most of the early correspondence, that is, at least through 1910, consists of letters to Grant Richards or to the Richard Press prior to Secker's association with that firm.

Also present are manuscripts of works by Coulson T. Cade ("The Black Poppy") and Sandys Wason ("The Stilt-Birds"); photographs of several Secker authors, three of which were taken and signed by photographer E.O. Hoppe; and a bound "Publication Ledger," dating from April 1938-Dec. 1954, indexed by title of publication.

1098 mss. 76 cop. 20 photos.

Collection size: 1,098 items

Related manuscripts: Secker mss. II

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.