Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Sherwood, R. mss., ca. 1968–1970, consist of letters from Walter J. Meserve to various correspondents regarding a study of the work of Robert Sherwood which he is in the process of writing. Robert E. Sherwood (April 4, 1896 – November 14, 1955), was an eminent American playwright, editor, and screenwriter. Sherwood was one of the original members of the Algonquin Round Table. His credits include The Road to Rome, Rebecca, There Shall Be No Night, and Roosevelt and Hopkins among others.

Correspondents include: Gabriel A. Almond; Brooks Atkinson; S.N. Behrman; John Mason Brown; Bennett Cerf; Marc Connelly; Paul H. Douglas; Milton Eisenhower; Samuel Goldwyn, Jr.; John Gunther; Lillian Hellman; Harold D. Lasswell; Owen Lattimore; Walter Lippmann; Charles R. Morris; Samuel I. Rosenman; Victor Samrock; Madeline Sherwood, Sherwood’s widow; Harry S Truman; James P. Warburg; and others.

Acquired: 2009

Collection size: 32 items

NOTE: Access to this collection requires advance notice. Please contact the Curator of Manuscripts for additional information.

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.