Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Williamson mss., 1885-1940, consist of correspondence and papers of George Charles Williamson, 1858-1942, author, relating to the Sette of Odd Volumes, a London society of which Williamson was a member.

Among the correspondents are Sir William Dent Adkins, Sir Lionel Cecil William Alexander, 6th bart., Arnold Ames, H. Evans Austin, Wilfrid Williams Ball, Horace Courthope Beck, Archibald Colquhoun Bell, Horace William Bleackley, Tancred Borenius, Sir Walter Pipon Braithwaite, John William Brodie- Innes, Hugh Chisholm, Walter Graham Churcher, Sir Ernest Clark, George Clulow, Conrad William Cooke, John Dibblee Crace, Sir Maurice Craig, Wilson Cross, James Curtis, Alfred Daniell, Cyril James Humphries Davenport, Norman Davey, Alfred John Davies, Henry Cart De Lafontaine, Arthur Diosy, Peter Hampson Ditchfield, Edmund Hunt Dring, William Duddell, Sir Sydney Marrow Eardley-Wilmot, Sir Alfred East, Charles Seddon Evans, Sir Harry Trelawney Eve, Oscar Faber, Sir Martin Onslow Forster, Sir George James Frampton, Frederick Hendebourck Gervis, John Alfred Gotch, Rupert Thomas Gould, George Charles Haite, John Hassall, Maurice Healy, Alan Patrick Herbert, Edward Heron-Allen, Alfred Hildesley, Frank Hird, Vyvyan Beresford Holland, Alexander Thomas Hollingsworth, Charles Holme, Henry Hope, Charles Harry St. John Hornby, Arthur Lee Humphreys, Frank Ireson, Francis John Henry Jenkinson, Charles Plumptre Johnson, James Frederick Keel, Sir John Scott Keltie, Bernard Kettle, Sir John Knill, 2d bart., Frederick St. John Lacy, John Lane, Sir William Arbuthnot Lane, 1st bart., Owen Lankester, Sir Arthur Lasenby Liberty, Charles Albert Lidgey, Henry George Liley, William John Locke, John Gilbert Lockhart, David Low, James Patrick Ronaldson Lyell, Sir John MacAlister, Henry Currie Marillier, Alfred Edward Woodley Mason, William Matthews, Kenneth Macrae Moir, Sir John Murray, Nathan Mutch, G. Paul Naylor, Evan Baillie Noel, Louis Napoleon Parker, Sir Max Pemberton, Montague Horatio Mostyn Turtle Pigott, Bernard Quaritch, Leslie R. Ray, William Pember Reeves, A. Wallace Rimington, Honyel Gough Rosedale, Lewis Boyd Sebastian, Ralph Straus, Sir Edward Sullivan, Alphonse James Albert Symons, Alfred George Temple, Henry Yates Thompson, Silvanus Phillips Thompson, John Todhunter, Frederick Henry Townsend, John Bannerman Wainewright, Sir Hugh Seymour Walpole, Alexander Raban Waugh, Charles Welsh, Henry Benjamin Wheatley, Sir Roland Bowdler Vaughan Williams, Harry Egerton Wimperis, Charles Theodore Hagberg Wright, and Sir William Lawrence Young, 8th bart.

Collection size: 361 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.