Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Willis mss., 1942-1945, consist of letters and documents of Hugh Evander Willis, 1875-1967, professor of law at Indiana University, dealing with Professor Willis' plan for achieving lasting peace through a federation of the world and with his proposals for the constitutuion of the United Nations.

Correspondents in this collection include Benjamin Algase, Mrs. Margaretta S. Austin, Joseph Hurst Ball, James Francis Byrnes, Grenville Clark, John G. Coulter, John Foster Dulles, Ray Forrester, Garfield Bromley Oxnam, Drew Pearson, Roscoe Pound, Owen Josephus Roberts, Herbert Finley Rudd, Beardsley Ruml, Harold Edward Stassen, Edward Reilly Stettinius, Norman Thomas, Henry Agard Wallace, Sumner Welles, and Wendell L. Willkie.

Collection size: 67 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.