Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Wright, D. mss., 1955-1967, consist of letters and literary papers of David John Wright, 1920- , author. Included are also some letters to Martin Seymour-Smith, 1928- , poet.

The collection is divided in two sections:

[1] Manuscripts of writings of David John Wright, 1920- , include drafts of various poems, 1955; printer's copy and galleys of Monologue of a Deaf Man, 1957; Farewell, Johannesburg: Saint Helena; and A Voyage to Africa; a "Chimpomat" the Zoo.

See the Manuscripts Catalog for further information on the writings.

[2] A chronological file of correspondence of David John Wright, 1958-1967, with novelists, poets, dramatists, and editors; and letters to Martin Seymour-Smith, 1965-1967, which are primarily concerned with literary matters.

Among the correspondents represented in the collection are Dannie Abse, Samuel Beckett, Thomas Blackburn, Anthony Burgess, William Empson, Robert Graves, Christopher Murray Grieve, Thompson William Gunn, Michael Hamburger, John Francis Alexander Heath-Stubbs, William Charles Plomer, Frank Templeton Prince, Florence Margaret Smith, and Stephen Spender, Brian Higgins.

Collection size: 59 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.