Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Zanuck mss., 1935-1951, consist of inter-office correspondence and notes to and from Darryl Francis Zanuck, 1902-1979, producer, and other officials of the Twentieth Century-Fox film studio. They concern the writing of several screenplays: The Black Rose; Crash Dive; Down Argentine Way; The Littlest Rebel; Meet Me After the Show; Oh, You Beautiful Doll; The Outcasts of Poker Flat; Sand; Sitting Pretty; The Snows of Kilimanjaro; Song of the Islands; Twelve O'Clock High; Under My Skin; and A Yank in the R.A.F.

Correspondents include: Michael Abel, Robert Bassler, Edwin Harvey Blum, Alfred Jack Bolton, Joseph Ignatius Breen, Jules Buck, Raymond Griffith, Stephen S. Jackson, Julian Johnson, Jason S. Joy, Louis King, Mel Morse, Aidan Roark, Casey Robinson, Milton Sperling, Joseph Swerling, Lamar Trotti, Dale Van Every, and Darryl Francis Zanuck.

An inventory is available.

Acquired: 1982

Related manuscripts: Zanuck mss. II

Collection size: 26 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.