--Contents-- Image of a gold trophy
2009 Commonwealth Writers Prize:
Regional Winners: More information
Best Book - Mandla Langa(South Africa) The Lost Colours of the Chameleon.  Picador Africa
Best First Book  -  Uwem Akpan(Nigeria) Say You‘re One of Them. Abacus

Guggenheim Fellow in Fiction, 2009:
Chris Abani: More information

2009 Caine Prize for Africa:
E.C. Osondu: More information

Fonlon-Nichols Award (2009 African Literature Association meeting in Burlington, Vermont:
Tess Osonye Onwueme: More Information

Golden Stallion of Yennenga at the 21st Fespaco, Burkina Faso:
Teza: An Ethiopian film written and directed by haile Gerima and co-produced by Selome Gerima (2008).
Language: Amharic|English|German 2009
News articles:
New York Times

2009 Noma Award for Publishing:
Sefi Atta, for Lawless and Other Stories, Farafina (2008)
See the press release