--Contents-- trophy

Academy Award Winner of the Best Foreign Language Film of the Year:

Tsotsi, directed by Gavin Hood. See for interview with Hood.

Werewere-Liking Wins 25th Noma Award
From the press release:
La mémoire amputée by Werewere-Liking, the Cameroonian writer, has won the 25th Noma Award for Publishing in Africa in 2005. The book was published by Nouvelles Editions Ivoiriennes, Abidjan, in 2004. The presentation of the Award will be hosted by the first Cape Town Book Fair, 17-20 June 2006. The Cape Town Book Fair is a joint venture by the Publishers Association of South Africa and the Frankfurt Book Fair.

For futher information about the Award, please contact:
Mary Jay, Secretary to the Noma Award for Publishing in Africa
PO Box 128, Witney, Oxon OX8 5XU, UK.
Tel: +44/(0)1993-775235;

Conover Porter Award

The winners of the Conover Porter Award will be announced at the 2006, ASA Fall Meeting, in San Francisco. This years nominees are:

African Folklore: An Encyclopedia. Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah, editors. New York: Routledge, 2004.

Gerdes, Paulus and Ahmed Djebbar. Mathematics in African History and Cultures. An Annotated Bibliography. Cape Town: African Mathematical Union, 2004.

Kagan, Alfred. Reference Guide to Africa: A Bibliography of Sources. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2005. 2nd ed.

Mazrui, Ali Al’Amin. The Mazruiana Collection Revisited: Ali A. Mazrui Debating the African Condition: An Annotated and Select Thematic Bibliography, 1962-2003. Compiled by Abdul Samed Bemath. Pretoria: Africa Institute of South Africa; Berkshire: New Dawn Press, 2005.

Miescher, Giorgio and Dag Henrichsen. African Posters: A Catalogue of the Poster Collection in the Basler Afrika Bibliographien. Basel: Basler Afrika Bibliographien, 2004.

Schafer, Rita. Gender und Landliche Entwicklung in Afrika, Eine Kommenterte Bibliographie [Gender and Rural Development in Africa: An Annotated Bibliography. Munster/Hamburg/London: Lit-Verlag, 2003.

Sheldon, Kathleen. Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2005.

Shillington, Kevin. Encyclopedia of African History. 3 vols. New York: Routledge, 2005.

Teferra, Damtew and Philip G. Altbach. African Higher Education: An International Reference Book. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2005. 2nd ed.

Tvedt, Terje. The Nile: An Annotated Bibliography. London; New York: I. B. Tauris, 2004. 2nd ed.

The Award will be announced at the African Studies Association's annual meeting/ALC fall meeting in San Francisco, November 16-19, 2006.

The Conover-Porter Award is presented in even-numbered years to the author of the most outstanding achievement in African bibliography and reference works published during the previous two years. The award is administered by the Africana Librarians Council. It includes a cash prize of $300.

The Conover-Porter Award is named for two pioneers in the field of African studies librarianship: Helen F. Conover and Dorothy B. Porter, who enjoyed long careers at the Library of Congress and Howard University respectively. Deadline for application submission is June 1, 2006.

Return to Table of Contents

Next Page