Linguistics Faculty


Linguistics Faculty

Julie Auger (jauger@indiana.edu)
http://frit.indiana.edu/faculty/auger.shtml 
Associate Professor of Linguistics and French. Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1994. Sociolinguistics, French linguistics, variation theory, morphosyntax.

Kelly Berkson (kberkson@indiana.edu)
http://www.kellyberkson.com

Assistant Professor. Ph.D. University of Kansas, 2013. Acoustic Phonetics; Phonology; Phonetics-phonology interface; Language endangerment and revitalization; Indigenous languages of North America; Indic languages.

Robert Botne (botner@indiana.edu)
Professor of Linguistics. Member of African Studies Program faculty. Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1981. African languages, Bantu, tense/aspect/modality systems, morphology, comparative linguistics, lexical semantics of verbs.

Ann Bunger (acbunger@indiana.edu)
http://pages.iu.edu/~acbunger/
Lecturer in Linguistics. Ph.D., Northwestern University, 2006. Language processing and acquisition, word learning, syntax-semantics interface, language and cognition.

Damir Cavar (dcavar@indiana.edu)
https://linguistlist.org/people/damir_cavar.html
Associate Professor of Linguistics. Ph.D., University of Potsdam, 1999. Computational linguistics, speech and language technologies, natural language processing (NLP), natural language resources.

Malgorzata Cavar (mcavar@indiana.edu)
https://linguistlist.org/people/malgosia_cavar.html
Assistant Professor of Linguistics. Ph.D., University of Potsdam, 2004. Phonetics and laboratory phonology, L2 acquisition, computational and corpus linguistics, theoretical phonology.

Stuart Davis (davis@indiana.edu)
http://www.indiana.edu/~lingdept/faculty/davis/
Professor of Linguistics. Associate Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty. Ph.D., University of Arizona 1985. Phonology, Semitic linguistics, African-American English, general linguistics.

Kenneth de Jong (kdejong@indiana.edu)
http://cl.indiana.edu/~kdejong/
Chair and Professor of Linguistics. Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty. Ph.D., Ohio State University, 1991. Phonetics, phonology, experimental approaches to language description and language acquisition.

Jon Forrest
Visiting Assistant Professor of Linguistics.  Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 2018.  Sociolinguistics, Language variation and change, Sociological theory, Sociophonetics, Southern US Englishes

Steven Franks (franks@indiana.edu)
Professor of Linguistics and Slavic Languages and Literatures. Adjunct Professor of Speech & Hearing Sciences. Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty and Member of the Russian and East European Institute. Ph.D., Cornell University, 1985. Slavic linguistics, syntactic theory.

Thomas Grano (tgrano@indiana.edu)
http://pages.iu.edu/~tgrano/
Assistant Professor of Linguistics. Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2012. Semantics, syntax-semantics interface, cross-linguistic variation, tense/aspect/modality, complement clauses, gradability and comparison, Chinese linguistics.

Yoshihisa Kitagawa (kitagawa@indiana.edu)
http://www.indiana.edu/~ykling/
Professor of Linguistics. Associate Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty. Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst, 1986. Syntactic theory, comparative syntax, syntax-semantics interface, morphology-syntax interaction, Japanese linguistics, linguistic theory and music theory.

Sandra Kübler (skuebler@indiana.edu)
http://cl.indiana.edu/~skuebler/
Professor of Linguistics. PhD., University of Tübingen, 2003. Computational Linguistics, computational corpus linguistics, machine learning techniques in computational linguistics, natural language processing.

Samuel Gyasi Obeng (sobeng@indiana.edu)
http://mypage.iu.edu/~sobeng/
Professor of Linguistics Member of African Studies Program & International Studies Program Faculty Adjunct Professor of African American and African Diaspora Studies. Ph.D., University of York (UK), 1988. African Languages (especially endangered languages), Political Discourse Analysis, The Politics About Languages in Africa, Multilingualism and Language Contact, Pragmatics of Prosody, Ethnopragmatics.

Francis M. Tyers
Assistant Professor of Linguistics. PhD., Universitat d’Alacant, 2013. Computational Linguistics, marginalised languages, morphosyntax, machine translation, dependency parsing

Barbara S. Vance (bvance@indiana.edu)
http://frit.indiana.edu/faculty/vance.shtml
Associate Professor of Linguistics and French and Italian. Ph.D., Cornell University, 1989. Diachronic and synchronic generative syntax, French linguistics, historical linguistics.


Emeriti Faculty

Joseph C. Clements (clements@indiana.edu)
http://www.indiana.edu/~spanport/people/clements.shtml
Professor of Linguistics and of Spanish and Portuguese. Ph.D., University of Washington, 1985. Morphosyntax, Spanish linguistics, contact linguistics, sociolinguistics, pidgins and creoles.

Daniel A. Dinnsen (dinnsen@indiana.edu)
http://www.iub.edu/~sndlrng/DAD2.htm
Chancellor’s Professor of Linguistics and Adjunct Professor of Speech & Hearing Sciences. Associate Member of Cognitive Science Program faculty. Ph.D., University of Texas, 1972. Phonological theory, phonological acquisition, speech disorders, and language and law.

Paul Newman (pnxxpn@indiana.edu)
http://www.indiana.edu/~lingdept/faculty/newman/index.html
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Linguistics. Adjunct Professor of Law. Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1967; J.D, Indiana University, 2003. Member of the Indiana Bar. African languages, Chadic, Hausa; historical linguistics, tonology, syllable structure, linguistic fieldwork; language and law, copyright, First Amendment law.

Robert F. Port (port@indiana.edu)
http://www.cs.indiana.edu/~port/
Professor Emeritus of Linguistics, Cognitive Science, and Computer Science. Member of African Studies Program faculty. Ph.D., University of Connecticut, 1976. Phonetics, speech production and perception, Swahili, dynamical models of cognition.

Frances Trix (ftrix@indiana.edu)
Professor Emerita of Linguistics and Anthropology. Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1988. Anthropological linguistics, discourse analysis, socio-linguistics, history of linguistic anthropology.

Albert Valdman (valdman@indiana.edu)
Rudy Professor Emeritus of Linguistics and French and Italian. Ph.D., Cornell University, 1960. French linguistics, applied linguistics, pidgins and creoles, second language acquisition.