Indiana University
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Celebration 2015


King Day Speaker

Highlighted Events






Contact Us

Follow us on:

Indiana University MLK Jr Day on Facebook   Indiana University MLK Jr Day on Twitter

Highlighted Events

Visit the MLK Jr. Celebration Calendar for event dates, times, and submission deadlines.

Building Bridges Award

IU Bloomington is seeking nominations to recognize individuals and organizations whose leadership and passion promote the legacy, vision, and spirit of Dr. King by presenting the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Building Bridges Awards.

Awards will be given in the following categories:

  • Undergraduate student
  • Graduate/professional student or student instructor
  • Faculty
  • Staff
  • Community member(s) or organization

Award criteria include:

  • Demonstrated passion for change or improvement to fulfill the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
  • Demonstrated leadership in promoting equality, equity, diversity, and justice
  • Demonstrated practices of respect and non-violence
  • Demonstrated commitment to empowerment
  • Developed innovative measures for the advancement of diversity

Awards will be presented during the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day Leadership Breakfast on Monday, January 19, 2015, at 8:00 a.m. in the IMU Alumni Hall.

The awards are given to those who embody the spirit of Dr. King. In your nomination, please explain how the nominee is working to promote unity, equity, and diversity without regard to race, sex, religion, national origin, age, sexual orientation, or disability. Campus and community members are encouraged to submit their nomination by 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 6, 2015.

Building Bridges Award Winners

Building Bridges Award winners


Community Award Bethel AME Free Homework Network
Faculty Herman Aguinis
Undergraduate Mackenzie Wright


Community Award Delta Signa Theta Sorority, Inc., Bloomington Alumnae Chapter
Faculty Kevin Brown, J.D.
Undergraduate Cameray Boyden
Graduate/Professional Student Samantha Schalk


Community Award Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
Staff John D. Zilvinskis
Faculty Gustave J. Weltsek, III
Undergraduate Juan Cano
Graduate/Professional Student Mahauganee D. Shaw


Community Award Get Real About Discrimination (GRAD) Empowerment Group, Kay Johnson
Undergraduate Michael Coleman


Community Award Elizabeth Mitchell
Staff Shameka Neely
Undergraduate Alexandria White


Community Award Beverly Calendar-Anderson
Staff Jeremy Gilmore
Faculty Lawrence Hanks
Undergraduate Ruchi Shah
Graduate Deidre Redmond

Revised: December 14, 2014

Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration
Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Multicultural Affairs
Bryan Hall 115, Bloomington, IN 47405-7000, USA
(812) 856-5700


Copyright © 2014 The Trustees of Indiana University | Copyright Complaints