IU JSOM
IU NME
photos alumni

Alumni

Many excellent performers have been a part of the Indiana University New Music Ensemble over the years.
This page is a way to get in touch with each other.
Please send additions, corrections, or deletions to Asst. Director Will Rowe.

 

NAME INSTRUMENT YEARS CURRENT POSITION EMAIL WEBSITE

Allcott, Dan

Conductor

 

Music Director Atlanta Ballet, Bryan Symphony Orchestra, Oak Ridge Symphony Orch and Chorus
Assoc Professor of Music, Tennessee Tech

 

 

Archer, Thaddeus

Trumpet

  Univ. of Toledo thaddeusarcher@fmail.com

website

Astaire, John

Percussion

    jastaire@indiana.edu

 

Bahn, Lina

Violin

  Corigliano Quartet, Univ. of Colorado-Boulder: Assistant Professor lina.bahn@colorado.edu

Corigliano Quartet, Contemporary Music Forum

Bark, Elliott Asst. Director 2008-2010 AI, IU JSOM elliottbark@gmail.com website

Best, Tim

Piano

  Music Theory Faculty, Indiana Univ. tcbest@indiana.edu

 

Blume, Brian Percussion 2005-2008   bcblume@indiana.edu  

Bolter, Ben

Conductor

2007-2008   bbolter@gmail.com

 

Bortolussi, Paolo

Flute

     

 

Bowman, Joshua Percussion 2006-2007   jobowman@indiana.edu  

Chang Sung, Jihye

Piano

  Arsenal Trio jihye@jihyechang.com

website

Choi, Winston

Piano

1998-2001 Roosevelt Univ.: Assistant Professor and Head of Piano, Chicago College of Performing Arts winston@winstonchoi.com

website

Denk, Jeremy

Piano

1990-1992 Bard College Conservatory of Music jeremy@jeremydenk.net

website

Duggan, Stacey

Percussion

1997-2001 Percussion Tech - Indiana University sduggan@indiana.edu

Frank, Max

Cello

20012-2014 Artist Diploma, Columbus State University sduggan@indiana.edu

Gebert, Anna Violin 2005-2006 Berlin Philharmonic    

Gotlibovich, Yuval

Viola

2002-2004    

 

Gourdjia, Liana Violin 2007-2009 Concertmaster, Montgomery Symphony   website
Haws, Adam Assistant Director 2005-07   ajhaws@indiana.edu  

Hernandez-Hidalgo, Omar

Viola

2001-2003    

 

Hogan, Matthew       mfhogan@indiana.edu  
Hosmer, Chris Tuba 1992-1993 Full-time Tuba/Euphonium Instructor at Jacksonville State University in Jacksonville, Alabama chosmer@jsu.edu website
Hristova, Bella Violin 2008-2009     website (YCA)
Huebsch, Sarah Oboe, EH 2008-2010   huebschhautbois@gmail.com website
Jensen, Ben Bass 2005-2007   bhjensen@indiana.edu  

Koppelman, Daniel

Piano

1985-1987 Furman Univ.: Associate Professor and Director of Music Technology daniel.koppelman@furman.edu

website

Lafosse, Leigh Clarinet 2006-2007 US Army Band (Pershing’s Own) llafosse@indiana.edu  

Lim, Michael

Violin

1997-2000 Corigliano Quartet, Violin and Chamber Music Faculty: Cornish College of the Arts mike@michaeljinsoolim.com

website, Corigliano Quartet

Manor, Yael Piano 2006-07 DMA Student: Indiana Univ., Kolot Ensemble: Director ymanor@indiana.edu Kolot Ensemble, Kolot Ensemble (myspace)
Marone, Collin Asst. Director 2010-2012   cmarone@indiana.edu  
Maslanka, Matt Trombone 2006-2007   maslanka@indiana.edu  

Mathieu, Veronique

Violin

2006-07   vmathieu@indiana.edu

 

Menzies, Mark

Viola

1993-1994 California Institute of the Arts mmenzies@calarts.edu

website

Meyer, Edgar

Bass

     

website

Mori, Akira

Conductor

1987-90
2007-08
Drake Univ.: Director of Orchestral Studies akiramori005@aol.com

 

Morkoski, Molly

Piano

1993-1995    

 

Pronin, Stanislav Violin 2006-07   spronin@indiana.edu  
Ramos, EJ Trumpet   US Army Band (Pershing’s Own) ejramos@indiana.edu  
Saliers, James Tuba 2006-08 Graduate Student: Indiana Univ. jsaliers@indiana.edu  
Schularick, Kirstin Horn 2006-08 Free Lance Musician in Vienna, Austria km.schularick@gmail.com  
Sorrels, Keith Oboe 2006-08   keisorre@indiana.edu  

Shea, David

Clarinet 

1993-1995    

 

Stokes, Donovan

Bass 

2001-2004 Shenandoah Conservatory, Professor of Bass and String Area Coordinator; International Society of Bassists, Board Member; Virginia String Teachers Association, President; Bass Coalition, President and Co-Artistic Director  donovan@donovanstokes.com 

website 

Sung, Ben

Violin

  Minnesota State Univ.-Moorhead and North Dakota State University ben@benjaminsung.com

website

Tomasetti, Alan

Flute

2006,
2009-2010
   

 

Umlauf, Lydia

Violin

2006,
2013-2014
Violinist, Dallas Symphony Orchestra   

 

Voyles, Scott

Conductor

2006-2007 Music Director, ensemble interface (Germany) scottvoyles@gmail.com

Website

Watras, Melia

Viola

1993-2000 Corigliano Quartet, Viola Professor: Univ. of Washington mwatras@u.washington.edu

website, Corigliano Quartet

Wiley, David

Conductor 

  Long Island Philharmonic, Music Director; Roanoke Symphony, Music Director  

 

Wolfe, David

Violin 

     

 

Wong, Alvin Cello 2006-07 Artist Diploma: Yale Univ. awcello@gmail.com

Yeh, I-Jeng

Flute

2006-08   iyeh@indiana.edu  
Yoon, Jane Harp     janyoon@indiana.edu

 


     Omar Hernández-Hidalgo, 1971-2010

I am stunned and very sad to learn of the death of Omar. Just over a week ago I had the good fortune to hear Omar perform at the Foro de Música Nueva, and as ever, he played superbly, with utmost conviction and captivating musicality.

Omar was a standout member of the Indiana University New Music Ensemble while working on his doctorate. I particularly remember his feature performances of Berio's Chemins II and Benjamin's Viola, Viola, but there were many others as well. His work with and on behalf of living composers will long be remembered through his recordings and through the many compositions written for him.

It was a joy to know and work with Omar. He will be sorely missed.

David Dzubay
June 7, 2010

LISTEN to Omar's live performance of Bruno Maderna's Viola from the IU New Music Ensemble concert December 5, 2002, Auer Concert Hall, Indiana University, Bloomington. [Connection to the IU network required.]



Music Admissions
Last updated: 19-Nov-2014
URL: http://www.music.indiana.edu/~nme/alumni.html
Comments: ddzubay @ indiana . edu
Copyright 2010, The Trustees of Indiana University