Geographic Focus

This project provides not only a statewide description of the nonprofit sector but also a more in-depth study of 12 diverse communities. These communities were selected on the basis of four major considerations:

  • Diversity of size (from large metropolitan area to small rural county)
  • Diversity of local characteristics (racial composition, wealth, growth/decline, industry base)
  • State-wide geographic distribution; and
  • Access to field associates and community support

Metropolitan areas

  • Bloomington
  • Evansville
  • Fort Wayne
  • Northwest Indiana
  • Indianapolis
  • Muncie
  • South Bend

Non-metro counties

  • Bartholomew
  • Cass
  • Dubois
  • Miami
  • Scott