Return to PEPP Curriculum Page

IDEAS FOR DEVELOPING A "PEPPy" SCIENCE FAIR PROJECT

 

RATIONALE: The availability of research quality seismometers in schools has not been effectively utilized. This project will assist teachers and students by providing a.) information and a checklist of pre-experimentation planning and protocols needed by students for science fair participation and b.) a listing of possible topics that could be developed into science fair projects.

 

EXPECTED RESULTS: An increase in the use of the PEPP instruments and data by students and teachers and an increase in seismometry projects at local, district, county, regional, and state science days, fairs, or symposia.

 

PEPP AND SCIENCE FAIRS

Science Fairs: How to start a project.

Each school district or corporation by state or county will have their own specific objective wording therefore a general listing of objectives will be listed. These objectives can be achieved via a science fair project.

 

General Objectives:

 

Educational Objectives

 

General Project Topics

 

D. Mentors

Please email these people to ask if they would be able to assist students with their seismology project.

Lowell Bailey- Bedford North Lawrence, IN, lsbailey@tima.com

William Baker-Carmel High, IN, bbaker@ccs.k12.in.us

David Burch, Eastern Greene, IN, dburch@tbird.egreene.k12.in.us

Bob Boltz, Nordonia Hills Middle, OH, boltz@nordonia.summit.k12.oh.us

Brett Cauble, McCutcheon H.S., IN, bcauble@juno.com

Veronica Crock, Indiana University, vcrock@indiana.edu

Chris Donovan, Rushville Consolidated, IN, donovan@hotmail.com

Amy Elleman, Rushville Consolidated, IN, amyelleman@hotmail.com

Margaret Fisherkeller, Indiana State Museum, mcginnis@ismhs.org

William Gee, Willard J. Gambold Middle, IN, geewilliam@hotmail.com

Lois Gray, New Harmony, IN, grayl@nharmony.k12.in.us

Jim Hoffman, Franklin Central, IN, jhoffman@iquest.net

Michael Kelley, Harrison H.S., IN, mrkelley@sigecom.net<

Ann Koshy, Daviess County HS, KY, akoshy@daviess.k12.ky.us

Nancy Martin, Jackson Creek, IN, nmartin@mccsc.edu

Tom Radamaker, Oak Hill H.S., IN, trademak@hotmail.com

Sam Reese, Alleghany College, PA, sreese@alleghany.edu

Robert Rollings, Floyd Central H.S., IN, ppnaf@yahoo.com

Jeff Sayers, Northview H.S., IN, jdsayers@aol.com

Ewa Shannon, East Chicago Central H.S., IN, ewashannon@hotmail.com

Catherine Shelton, Daviess County H.S., KY, cshelton@daviess.k12.ky.us

James B. Short, Gorham Fayette H.S., OH, fay_aca_js@nwoca.org

Greg Small, Harrison H.S., IN, grsmall@sigecom.net

Elvia Solis, Arlington H.S., IN, esolis2000@earthlink.net

Kathy Walters, Willard J. Gambold Middle, IN, chesse965@hotmail.com

Janice Weaver, Culver, IN, weaver@culver.org

Steve Webb, Perry Central, IN, swebb@psci.net

Michael Wolter, Muncie Central, IN, mwolter@iquest.net

 

E. References

Seismology: Resources for Teachers, THE SEISMOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA, www.seismosoc.org

IU-PEPP Website, www.indiana.edu/~pepp/

Princeton Earth Physics Project website, www.lasker.princeton.edu

Science Service,Inc.www.sciserv.org

United States Geologic Survey website www.neic.cr.usgs.gov/neis/bulletin/bulletin.html

F. Assessment

Survey PEPP participants for numbers of their students developing a PEPP science fair project. The mentors will also be asked if they have been contacted for assistance.

 

G. Sample Forms

Click here to see the sample figures

H. Sample Project

Click here for further information about a project.

 

Return to PEPP Curriculum Page