Use the red arrows to advance through the slide show, or jump around by selecting an item below.

LEED certification


Driveway, retention pond

The roof

Solar hot water system

The floor

Energy efficiency, lighting

Water conservation, sewage

Showers, furniture

"Green" transportation

LEED certification plaque

IU Research and Teaching Preserve
Field Lab Green Features
previous photo next photo
The LEED-certification program outlines the intent, requirements, technologies, and strategies for meeting each credit required for various levels of certification. Credits are broken down into individual points. A building requires at least 40 points for certification in LEED-NC v3.0. Silver, gold, and platinum levels are also available.

According to the USGBC's Web site, LEED-certified buildings are designed to:
  • Lower operating costs and increase asset value
  • Reduce waste sent to landfills
  • Conserve energy and water
  • Be healthier and safer for occupants
  • Reduce harmful greenhouse gas emissions
  • Qualify for tax rebates, zoning allowances and other incentives in hundreds of cities
  • Demonstrate an owner's commitment to environmental stewardship and social responsibility

previous photo next photo

Return to IU Research and Teaching Preserve Field Lab page