Volume XXIII Number 3 • January 2001

Guest Editor
Suzanne E. Thorin


Associate Editor
Lauren J. Bryant

David J. Smith

Tyagan Miller

Editorial Assistant
Alicia Crabtree

Advisory Board

Eileen Bender,
University Director, FACET, and
Professor of English
IU South Bend

T. Michael Ford ,
Special Assistant to the Vice President
and Chief Financial Officer,
IU Bloomington
J. Timothy Londergan ,
Professor of Physics,
Department of Physics,
IU Bloomington
James W. Reidhaar ,
Associate Professor of Fine Arts,
Henry Radford Hope School of Fine Arts,
IU Bloomington
Henry H.H. Remak,
Professor Emeritus of Germanic
, Comparative Literature,
and West European Studies,
IU Bloomington

Eric Schoch,
Director of New Media,
Consumer Health Communications,
IU School of Medicine

Michael Shermis,
Senior Producer,
Bloomington, IN
Cleve Wilhoit,
Professor of Journalism,
School of Journalism,
IU Bloomington


Marc D. Allan is a media critic for the Indianapolis Star newspaper.

Elizabeth Hunt is a freelance writer in South Bend.

Ceci Jones is a senior editor in the IU Bloomington office of publications.

Eric Pfeffinger, a playwright and cartoonist, is also associate director of financial aid for the Indiana University Kelley School of Business MBA program in Bloomington.

Nick Riddle is a writer for the IU Foundation and a regular contributor to the Bloomington Independent. He has written for BBC Radio and Waterstone’s Magazine.

William Rozycki, a freelance writer, teaches writing at IUPUI.

Suzanne E. Thorin is Ruth Lilly University Dean of the University Libraries at Indiana University.

Douglas Wissing is a Bloomington-based writer for publications such as the New York Times and National Geographic Traveler.

Published by the Office of Research and the University Graduate School

George E. Walker
Vice President for Research
and Dean of the Graduate School

Return to Table of Contents