Skip to Content | Skip to Search | Skip to Navigation
Indiana University

Major economic theory conference taking place at IU Bloomington

June 1, 2011
Bloomington, Indiana --

The conference, taking place at various locations on the IU campus, June 2-4, will feature plenary presentations by five of the world's best-known economists, including two Nobel Prize laureates. The plenary sessions are free and open to the public.

"Bringing world-class scholars to IU for this conference is wonderful for our students, the faculty and the wider university community," said Gerhard Glomm, chairman of the IU Bloomington Department of Economics in the College of Arts and Sciences. "The conference will foster a productive exchange of ideas on a huge variety of exciting economic issues."

Plenary speakers and their topics include:

  • Elinor Ostrom, "Protecting Institutional Diversity," 9:15-10:15 a.m., Thursday (June 2), Whittenberger Auditorium. Ostrom, a 2009 Nobel laureate in economic sciences, is Distinguished Professor and Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science and senior research director of the Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis at IU Bloomington.
  • Daron Acemoglu, "Markov Voting Equilibria," 5-6 p.m., Thursday, Whittenberger Auditorium. Acemoglu is the Elizabeth and James Killian Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
  • Gabrielle Demange, "Contribution Rules in Pay-as-you-go Social Security Systems," 9-10 a.m., Friday, Whittenberger Auditorium. Demange is research director at l'Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) and associate chair at Paris School of Economics.
  • Matthew O. Jackson, "Collective Dynamic Choice: The Necessity of Time Inconsistency," 4:45-5:45 p.m., Friday, Whittenberger Auditorium. Jackson is the William D. Eberle Professor of Economics at Stanford University and an external faculty member of the Santa Fe Institute.
  • Edward C. Prescott, "Efficiently Financing Retirement," 9-10 a.m., Saturday, Whittenberger Auditorium. Prescott, a 2004 Nobel laureate in economic sciences, is the W. P. Carey Chaired Professor of Economics and the director of the Center for the Advanced Study in Economic Efficiency at Arizona State University.
Also part of the conference are three full days of sessions on such topics as social networks, taxation, economics of education, international economics, free riding, political competition, trade, wages, outsourcing and environmental economics. Indiana University faculty members serving as panelists include Frank Page of the Department of Economics in the College of Arts and Sciences and Justin Ross, Denvil Duncan, Bradley Heim and Anh Tran of the School of Public and Environmental Affairs.

Glomm and Page of the IU Bloomington Department of Economics are serving as chairs of the program committee with John Conley and Myrna Wooders, faculty members at Vanderbilt University.

For more information, see the conference website at