Skip to Content | Skip to Search | Skip to Navigation

From the desk of Dean Graham:

September 19, 2012
Bloomington, Indiana --

Please join me in congratulating Beth Gazley and Ashlyn Nelson!!

Image of Beth GazleyBeth Gazley received the RGK Center-ARNOVA Presidents Award for 2012. This is a joint award from the University of Texas’ RGK Center for Philanthropy and Community Service and ARNOVA (Association for Research on Nonprofit Organization and Voluntary Action) and is offered annually to encourage innovative, foundational research in the field of nonprofit and philanthropic studies. The selection committee, which included several past presidents of ARNOVA, awarded the $10,000 prize to Gazley for her research proposal titled “Creating an Empirical and Conceptual Map of Government-Supporting NPO.” The project will be examining the creation of tax-exempt entities in the U.S. that raise funds for government services. Gazley will be working with a team of student and faculty collaborators, including Ashlyn Nelson.

Image of Ashlyn NelsonAshlyn Aiko Nelson received an award from the Multidisciplinary Ventures and Seminars Fund through the Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs. The $5,000 grant will be used toward the project “Indiana University—Bloomington Economics of Education Seminar Series.” The seminar series will bring leading economists conducting applied education policy research to the IU campus. The series aims to enhance IU-Bloomington’s reputation as a leading research institution in this area; to encourage and attract scholarly research and student engagement in the field of education policy; to provide a common platform for intellectual exchange between IU and researchers and policymakers at other institutions; and to provide the larger IU community with an opportunity to engage with experts on nationally prominent education policy issues. Nelson chairs the seminar series, along with Cassandra Guarino from the School of Education and Michael Kaganovich from the Department of Economics in the College of Arts and Sciences. The award is part of a fund set up to promote interdisciplinary collaborations among faculty members.