Working Groups

Education and Research

Education & Research Working Group

In an age where education is revered as the solution to many of the world's ills, higher education institutions play a major role in shaping public opinion.

As a share of national Gross Domestic Product (GDP), postsecondary degree-granting institutions totaled to 3.2%, or $460 million of total GDP (National Center for Education Statistics, 2011). These institutions have the vital resources such as human capital and purchasing power used to influence students who will participate in all sectors of the economy including the private, public, and non-profit sectors.

With this immense capacity for impact comes the responsibility of providing students with the foundation to meet the complex issues of the day. Because climate change and social justice in the face of climate change has risen to the consciousness of many American minds, our universities must prepare our communities for the calamity that could result if we stay on this course of inaction. In the case of students, we must ask for and expect a wholesome education, which includes an interdisciplinary study of sustainability in the environment.

Divergent thinking allows us to interpret complex social and environmental issues in a way that invites solutions from all realms of life. No matter what field of knowledge, solutions to issues of climate change, overpopulation, environmental degradation, etc. will come from well-informed citizens.

Members

Back to top

MemberTitleEmail
Rogan, JaneCo-Chair; Staff (OVPUE)jrogan@indiana.edu
Capshew, JamesCo-Chair; Philosophyjcapshew@indiana.edu 
Hussung, BaileyIntern; Student (School of Public and Environmental Affairs)bjhussun@indiana.edu 
Brethova, KristinOffice of Sustainability, Assistant Directorbrethova@indiana.edu
Brown, BillIU Director of Sustainability

brownwm@indiana.edu

Cooley, DaveStaff (Informatics)drcooley@indiana.edu
Cromwell, DennisStaff (Assoc. VP, Enterprise Infrastructure)dcromwel@iu.edu
de Leon, BernadetteSchool of Public Health IT, Directordeleon@indiana.edu
Henschel, RobertUITS Research Technologies, Manager, High Performance Applications henschel@iu.edu 
Kellams, DinaUniversity Archives, Directordmkellam@indiana.edu 
Luehring, FredFaculty (Physics)luehring@indiana.edu
Maupin, JoyUITS Staffjomaupin@iu.edu 
Miller, DanUITS Data Center, Managerdjmille@iu.edu
Reid, ToddIU Surplus Stores, Managertareid@indiana.edu
Smith, NathanStaff (Purchasing)nathans@indiana.edu