Working Groups

Food

Working Group

The Food Working Group is a diverse group of students, staff, faculty, and community members working toward more sustainable food purchasing decisions on Indiana University's campus.

Read more about the Food Working Group in the following sections.

History

Back to top

The IU Task Force on Sustainability (IUSTF) created the Food Working Group (FWG) in 2007 to address issues of sustainable food on the IUB campus and in the surrounding community. With the establishment of the IU Office of Sustainability in 2009, the IUSTF transitioned into the Campus Sustainability Advisory Board (CSAB). The FWG continues its research and programming as one of seven CSAB working groups.

Vision, Mission and Organization

Back to top

  • Vision
    We envision an environmentally sustainable and socially just food system that promotes food security, education, and local procurement within the Bloomington area.
  • Mission
    • Through collaboration among students, staff, faculty, and community members, the Food Working Group (FWG) strives to support an environmentally and financially sustainable food system focusing on quality, taste, and nutrition, as well as the social, ecological, and public health costs of food production and consumption.
  • Goals
    • Procurement: Support an environmentally sustainable food system by sourcing food that is socially just, economically viable and nutritionally sound
    • Waste: Support the development of sustainable waste-management systems
    • Education: Support learning opportunities and student activities fostering sustainable food systems
    • Collaboration: Foster a sustainable food network with increased communication and collaboration among diverse stakeholders
  • Strategic Plan
  • Organization
    • The FWG is responsible for bring together a diverse group of stakeholders on the IUB campus, uniting our often disconnected academic and operational missions in support of a healthy campus food system. As you can see, IU has an abundance of food actors, and the FWG plays a critical role in supporting communication and collaboration between them. 
Food Working Group Organization
As we put our strategic plan into action, we will continue to assess current progress and future initiatives in two key areas: infrastructure and behavior change. As you can see below, infrastructure refers to the structure, systems and procedures we use to deliver food to the campus community--put simply, the food options provided on campus. Behavior change refers to programming and initiatives aimed at educating students about and increasing demand for local and sustainable food on campus. It's hard to change one without the other. We need student demand for sustainable food in order to rationalize providing more options, but we need to education students about the social, environmental and economic impacts of their food choices through our offerings in order to change behavior. So, we're trying to tackle both simultaneously.
Infrastructure vs. Behavior



 
Recent Progress

Back to top

  • 2014
    • The FWG held the second IU Food Summit and discussed sustainable food options and data tracking with our vendors.
    • Volunteers began implementing the permaculture redesign plans of the Hilltop Campus Garden.
    • The FWG held the third IU Food Summit, which focused on student perceptions and demand for sustainable food. 
  • 2013
    • The FWG held the first IU Food Summit to discuss the development of a sustainable food procurement policy.
    • Dan Knudsen's Geography Real Food Challenge course began so students could work on an assessment of the sustainability of food items purchased by RPS.
    • Collins sponsored a permaculture course in Fall 2013 taught by Jonas Carpenter that has led to the redesign of the Campus Garden.
  • 2010
    • Amy Countryman created a guide for local farmers to sell to Piazza or Troyers.
    • Stephanie Hopkins organized the pilot campus garden at the Bryan House, and she began the Designing an Edible Campus design series.
Leadership

Back to top

The Food Working Group is led by:  

  • Steven Lalevich, Staff Co-Chair, IUB Health Center, (slalevic@indiana.edu)
  • James Farmer, Faculty Co-Chair, Chair of Geography, (jafarmer@indiana.edu)
Membership

Back to top


MemberTitleEmail
Farmer, JamesCo-Chair; Faculty (School of Public Health)jafarmer@indiana.edu
Lalevich, StevenCo-Chair; Faculty (Health Center)slalevic@indiana.edu
Fowler, SandraStaff (RPS)sfowler@indiana.edu
Fredericks, TresaStaff (Purchasing)trfreder@iu.edu
Toler, AprilFaculty (Vp for Engagement)artoler@iu.edu
Gray, ChrisStaff (Sodexo)chrigray@indiana.edu
Halloran, VivianFaculty (Comparative Lit & Am Studies)vhallora@indiana.edu
Hampton, ChrisFaculty (SPEA)cwhampto@indiana.edu
Hinnefeld, SteveFaculty (Vp for Engagement)slhinnef@iu.edu
Hollingsworth, PattyStaff (Director of Health IU)pwhollin@indiana.edu
Ipsen,CarlFaculty (Department of History, Director IU Food Project, Director of Collins )cipsen@indiana.edu
IU Garden InitiativeGroupiugarden@indiana.edu
Johnston, GillianStaff (College of Arts and Sciences)gijohnst@indiana.edu
Kaser, HopeFaculty (Assistant Director of Athletic Dining)hkaser@indiana.edu
Keith, RebeccaStaff (IU Alumni Association)rekeith@iu.edu
Kelly, DebFaculty (SPEA Undergraduate Academic Advisor)dlmkelly@indiana.edu
Knudsen, ZacharyStaff (IMU)zachary.knudsen@sodexo.com
McKeen,GrahamFaculty (Public Health Manager)gmckeen@iu.edu
Gerbig, MartaFaculty (Enviromental Health and Safety)msgerbig@iu.edu
Hojnicki, CarynStaff (Athletics)hojnickc@indiana.edu
Piurek, JenniferFaculty (Communications and Special Projects Office of the Provost)jpiurek@iu.edu
Pontius, JoelFaculty (Assistant Professor of Sustainability and Environmental Education)joelbpontius@gmail.com
Rerko, KentStaff (RPS)krerko@indiana.edu
Rice, TimStaff (Office of Procurement Services)trice@iu.edu
Sideris, LisaFaculty (Religious Studies)lsideris@indiana.edu
Solomon, StephanieMother Hubbard's Cupboardstephanie@mhcfoodpantry.org
Symes, EllieFaculty (SPEA)esymes@indiana.edu
Tallent, DavidStaff (IU Catering)jotallen@iu.edu
Thill, Leahfaculty (SPEA)ljthill@umail.iu.edu
Todd, PeterFaculty (Department of Psychology)pmtodd@indiana.edu
Wiley, Andrea S.Faculty (Anthropology)wileya@indiana.edu
Wolford, CoryFaculty (Environmental Health and Safety Specialist)corywolf@iu.edu
Woodard, LeaHilltop Gardenlemawood@indiana.edu
Zakem, MimiStudentmzakem@indiana.edu