Topics

Computing

Working Group

History

Back to top

Formed by UITS at the request of the IU Office of Sustainability in 2009, the Sustainable IT Working Group (SITWG) is a cross-functional team of faculty, staff and students who are dedicated to improving sustainabile computing practices at IU. Since its formation, SITWG has focused on utility management for computing resources, responsible management of electronic waste, print reduction initiatives and the use of technology as a vehicle for improving sustainability.

Mission

Back to top

To leverage resources, skills and knowledge with the goal of lowering the environmental impact of our technological practices and effectively employ  technologies to lower the environmental impact of the campus and its constituents.

Charge

Back to top

  1. Advise the Office of Sustainability, Sustainability Advisory Board, and Office of the Vice President for Information Technology  on environmental impact of technological practices. Recommend projects and priorities to achieve objective.
  2. Evaluate and recommend technology uses that allow the campus to meet its sustainability goals.
  3. Facilitate communication on sustainable computing initiatives across the University.
  4. Seek input from broad constituents on sustainable computing.
Recent Progress

Back to top

The first initiative that the Sustainable Computing Working Group helped roll out in 2009 was the GoGreen Gadget and Reporting Service. Since then the Working Group has worked to publicize E-Waste Recycling events and advise the University on new technologies and purchasing practices.

Leadership

Back to top

Currently, the Working Group is led by co-chairs  Kim Milford and Victor Borden.

Membership

Back to top

Sustainable IT Working Group Members

Zappia, Catherine

Leveraged Support, IUTS

Bantin, Philip

Adjunct Associate Professor

Director of Archives Specialization

Director of Office of University Archives

bantin@indiana.edu

Borden, Victor

Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Senior Advisor to the Executive Vice President for University Regional Affairs, Planning, and Policy

vborden@indiana.edu

Brown, William

Director of the Office of Sustainability

bilbrown@indiana.edu

Cooley, Dave

Assistant Director of Facilities & Collaborative Environments, School of Informatics & Computing

drcooley@indiana.edu

Cromwell, Dennis

Associate Vice President, Enterprise Infrastructure

dcromwel@indiana.edu

de Leon, Bernadette

Director, SPH Bloomington IT Services

deleon@indiana.edu

Flynn, Bob

IT Community Partnerships, Project Manager

reflynn@indiana.edu

England, Chris

IT Manager, SPEA

chenglan@indiana.edu

Herring, Todd

IT Community Partnerships, Project Manager

therring@indiana.edu

Maier, Noma

UITS Sustainability Coordinator

nomaier@indiana.edu 

Milford, Kim

Chief Privacy Officer

kmilford@indiana.edu

Reid, Todd

IU Surplus, Manager

tareid@indiana.edu 

Rex, Emilie

Assistant Director of the Office of Sustainability

erex@indiana.edu

Smith, Nathan

Contract Manager (Purchasing)

nathans@indiana.edu

Decker, Matthew

Manager Student Technology Center, IUTS

masdecke@iu.edu

Zappia, Catherine

Leveraged Support, IUTS

cazappia@iu.edu