Topics

Computing

Working Group

History

Back to top

Formed by UITS at the request of the IU Office of Sustainability in 2009, the Sustainable IT Working Group (SITWG) is a cross-functional team of faculty, staff and students who are dedicated to improving sustainabile computing practices at IU. Since its formation, SITWG has focused on utility management for computing resources, responsible management of electronic waste, print reduction initiatives and the use of technology as a vehicle for improving sustainability.

Mission

Back to top

To leverage resources, skills and knowledge with the goal of lowering the environmental impact of our technological practices and effectively employ  technologies to lower the environmental impact of the campus and its constituents.

Charge

Back to top

  1. Advise the Office of Sustainability, Sustainability Advisory Board, and Office of the Vice President for Information Technology  on environmental impact of technological practices. Recommend projects and priorities to achieve objective.
  2. Evaluate and recommend technology uses that allow the campus to meet its sustainability goals.
  3. Facilitate communication on sustainable computing initiatives across the University.
  4. Seek input from broad constituents on sustainable computing.
Recent Progress

Back to top

The first initiative that the Sustainable Computing Working Group helped roll out in 2009 was the GoGreen Gadget and Reporting Service. Since then the Working Group has worked to publicize E-Waste Recycling events and advise the University on new technologies and purchasing practices.

Leadership

Back to top

The working group is currently led by co-chairs Victor Borden and Noma Maier.

Membership

Back to top

MemberTitleEmail
Maier, NomaCo-Chair; Staff (UITS)nomaier@iu.edu
Borden, VicCo-Chair; Faculty (Edu Leadership & Policy Studies)vborden@indiana.edu
Bantin, PhilipFaculty (Information & Library Science)bantin@indiana.edu
Brethova, KristinOffice of Sustainability, Assistant Directorbrethova@indiana.edu
Cooley, DaveStaff (Informatics)drcooley@indiana.edu
Cromwell, DennisStaff (Assoc. VP, Enterprise Infrastructure)dcromwel@iu.edu
de Leon, BernadetteSchool of Public Health IT, Directordeleon@indiana.edu
Ensmenger, NathanFaculty (Informatics)nensmeng@indiana.edu
Herring, ToddIT Community Partnerships, Project Managertherring@indiana.edu
Luehring, FredFaculty (Physics)luehring@indiana.edu
Miller, DanUITS Data Center, Managerdjmille@iu.edu
Reid, ToddIU Surplus Stores, Managertareid@indiana.edu
Smith, NathanStaff (Purchasing)nathans@indiana.edu
Zappia, CatherineStaff (UITS)cazappia@iu.edu