Indiana University
People  |    
Telecom joined the new IU Media School in July 2014. Read more “Sounds of IU”: Students collaborate with “Everything Sounds” podcast producers. Read more MultiVisions wins the CASE Gold Award: Best Student Alumni Program. Read more Martins & Yeshua-Katz make major headlines with "Pro-Ana Paradox." Read more Andrew Weaver: moral decision making in games & the real world. Read more Student game project selling on XBox Live Indie Marketplace. Read more

New Grad Programs

Beginning in Fall 2015, the new Media School will be offering integrated graduate programs (M.A., M.S., Ph.D.) that bring together the existing Telecommunications, Journalism, and film and media related Communication and Culture programs.  These programs are currently under development and will be posted soon after they are finalized.  Students interested in Journalism, film and media related Communication and Culture, and Telecommunications offerings should apply through the Telecommunications website.  If you have questions please contact Telecommunications grad director (, who will direct you to the relevant people in Journalism and film and media related sides of Communication and Culture.


Faculty News

Professor of practice Robby Benson introduced actor and IU alumnus Kevin Kline at a question-and-answer session on the IU Auditorium stage Sept. 15, crediting Kline with changing his life.

Kline, who earned a bachelor’s degree in speech and theater in 1970, received an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters for his work in film and theater during a ceremony in the auditorium.

After the ceremony, Benson and his wife, actress Karla DeVito, welcomed Kline back to the stage for a conversation with Jonathan Michaelsen, chair of the Department of Theater and Drama. - more

Media School News

The Poynter Center’s Meaning and Media Seminar has announced its Fellows, which include five faculty and three doctoral students from The Media School.

Faculty Fellows are associate professor Terri Francis, professor of practice Kelley Benham French, professor of practice Tom French, associate professor Bryant Paul, associate professor Rob Potter and professor Steve Raymer.

Doctoral student Fellows are Zachary Vaughn, Roshni Verghese and doctoral student YanYan Zhou. -more