Indiana University
People  |    

Undergraduate Program | Scholarships and Awards

Student Scholarships & Fellowships for Telecommunications Students Enrolled at IU for Spring, 2015

Application & instructions (PDF)
Application & instructions (WORD)

Donald E. Agostino Memorial Scholarship

The Donald E. Agostino Memorial Scholarship is presented to a junior or senior Telecommunications major who is outstanding as a scholar, exhibits curiosity for learning across a wide range of interests and has participated in leadership and service opportunities while attending IU. The scholarship reflects the attributes of Don Agostino, a lifelong scholar with broad intellectual interests and accomplishments. Don joined the faculty of the Indiana University Department of Telecommunications in 1973, serving as department chairperson from 1984-1991. He became general manager of Radio-TV Services (WTIU and WFIU) in 1992 until his retirement in 2003.

LeRoy Bannerman Scholarship

This scholarship is made in recognition of Professor Emeritus LeRoy Bannerman and his passion for the art of audio production.  In addition to teaching for the Department, LeRoy wrote and produced more than 200 hours of radio programs, in which he emphasized imagery and imagination in sound.  This scholarship is presented to one or more telecommunications majors with an interest in innovative audio techniques who have a record of academic excellence. 

Tom and Jay Darragh Conference Support Scholarship or Fellowship

This gift is intended to support undergraduate or graduate students in the Department of Telecommunications to attend an industry trade show, conference, and/or to present research at a professional conference.  Preference will be given to students pursuing an interest in telecommunications management or telecommunications policy.  Tom Darragh’s career was in the telecommunications industry and he taught as an adjunct instructor in the Department for almost ten years.

Rolland Johnson Scholarship

Rolland Johnson joined the IU faculty in 1971, taught courses in media management, and chaired the Department of Telecommunications from 1981 to 1984.  After leaving IU, Johnson managed and then owned several telecommunications companies.  This $500 scholarship, made possible through a gift from Joseph and Cindy Buchman, is awarded to an undergraduate Telecommunications major studying in the area of management.  Criteria for the award include scholarship and a commitment to a career in telecommunications management.

Lee Norvelle Undergraduate Scholarship or Graduate Fellowship

Lee Norvelle Undergraduate Scholarship or Graduate Fellowship totals $1500 and is granted to an undergraduate or graduate student in the Department of Telecommunications.
The Norvelle Scholarship/Fellowship is given in honor of Lee Norvelle, former chairman of Indiana University's Department of Speech and Theater, now the Department of Theater and Drama.  In the 1930s and 1940s, Norvelle was instrumental in introducing classes in broadcasting.  The Department of Telecommunications is a direct descendent of these courses.
Norvelle joined the Indiana University faculty in 1925 and began to expand the theater curriculum and to produce plays.  During his career, Norvelle became active in theater on the national level and built the theater program at Indiana into one of the best in the nation.  He augmented the theater program at I.U. by founding the Brown County Playhouse in 1949 and the Showboat Majestic, a riverboat playhouse that operated on the Ohio River for six years, in 1959.  The Brown County Playhouse flourishes today.

Donald Abbott Rushton Memorial Scholarship

Donald Abbott Rushton was an associate director for some of television’s earliest shows.  These included “Kukla, Fran and Ollie,” children’s puppet show, “American Swing Around” country music show and “Passage to Adventure” travel show.  This scholarship, for one or more undergraduate students in the Department of Telecommunications, is to honor the memory of Donald Abbott Rushton, a 1949 graduate of Indiana University.  Preference will be given to students focusing on program directing. 

Sheehan Memorial Scholarship

The Sheehan Memorial Scholarship is for one or more undergraduate students enrolled in the Department of Telecommunications who have an interest in radio and television and have demonstrated imagination, artistic integrity, and creativity.  These are the qualities that Jack Sheehan, a former member of the radio-television faculty at Indiana University, prized and exemplified in his life and his teaching

Jennifer Byrne Shull Scholarship/Fellowship

This scholarship or fellowship is made in recognition of Jennifer Byrne Shull, one of the first women graduates in the field of radio and television at Indiana University to achieve professional prominence as a leader among women professionals in the entertainment industry and as a role model for young executives. 

Funding for the Jennifer Byrne Shull Scholarship comes from a generous grant from the motion picture director Ray Stark, to recognize a decade of successful professional collaboration with Jennifer Shull on the occasion of her receiving the Artios Award from the Casting Society of America.

The scholarship or fellowship is presented to one or more undergraduate or graduate students in the Department of Telecommunications.  Preference will be given to students who have demonstrated high academic merit and financial need.