National Scholarships

Foundation Chapter
The Foundation Chapter of Theta Chi provides scholarships to both undergraduate and alumnus brothers who demonstrate outstanding academic performance; service to the Fraternity, school and community; leadership activities; financial need; and clear personal and career goals and objectives.

Sherwood and Janet Roberts Blue Scholarships
In 1953, while he was serving as National President, Sherwood Blue AI ‘26 established the Foundation Chapter of Theta Chi Fraternity, which is our Fraternity’s national foundation. Sherwood and his wife Janet left the majority of their estate to this Foundation, which established a significant endowment that provides individual scholarships annually that range from $1,000 to $5,000. Alpha Iota men compete with more than 5,000 Brothers from all of Theta Chi’s Chapters for these scholarships. Here is a list of our Chapter Brothers who have been awarded these scholarships:

  • 1976 Curtis R. Chapman #898
  • 1982 Russell D. Kornblut #1069
  • 1983 Russell D. Kornblut #1069
  • 1985 Mathew J. Perry #1200
  • 1990 Joseph F. Valentino #1332
  • 1991 William A. Maniscalco #1342
  • 1992 Tom Vander Luitgaren #1356
  • 1994 Michael R. Mizwicki #1459
  • 1997 Radley P. Balco #1562
  • 2002 Eric M. Negangard #1743
  • 2007
    • Robert Phillips #1893
    • Ray Vanlanot #1854
  • 2008
    • Greg Cox #1865
    • Matthew Strausburg #1880
    • Ray Vanlanot #1854
  • 2009
    • Doug Donoghue #1923
    • Brendon Kelly #1944
    • Emerson Long #1950
    • Dan Scheldrup #1959
    • Dustin Silverman #1964
    • Matthew Strausburg #1880
    • Ray Vanlanot #1854
  • 2010
    • Colby Clumeck #2009
    • Doug Donoghue 1923
    • Benjamin Lewis #1958
    • Emerson Long #1950
    • Cory Mofield #1945
    • Christopher O’Keefe #1986
    • Daniel Scheldrup #1959
    • Dustin Silverman #1964
    • Matthew Strausburg #1880
    • Lucas Supinski #1952

Slivinske Scholarships
The Slivinske Scholarship Fund was established in 1989 and named for Brother Dale Slivinske, Gamma Sigma, Duke University 1968, past Executive Director of Theta Chi Fraternity, in honor of his service to the National Fraternity. Until 2009, Theta Chi Fraternity undergraduates from all chapters competed annually for these scholarships, which were awarded to undergraduate members of Theta Chi Fraternity recognizing service to the Fraternity and academic achievement. The members of Alpha Iota Chapter who have received these scholarships are:

  • 1992 Tom Vander Luitgaren #1356
  • 2002 Eric M. Negangard #1743
  • 2002 Joshua N. Payne #1742
  • 2006 Ray Vanlanot #1854
  • 2007 Matt Strausburg #1880

In 2009, the purpose for which these scholarships were awarded was changed and the proceeds from this scholarship fund now support the leadership programs sponsored by the National Fraternity by offsetting the cost of undergraduates to attend. These programs are the School of Fraternity Practices, Mid Year Leadership Challenges, and the Deranian Officers Conference. This scholarship fund continues to be administered by the Foundation Chapter Board of Directors.

Donations and Questions

The Foundation Chapter manages the Sherwood and Jane Roberts Blue Scholarships and, since this is supported by a private trust, contributions are not currently being accepted.

If you would like to make a tax-deductible contribution to the Slivinske fund, please send a check, made out to the Foundation Chapter of Theta Chi Fraternity and note in the memo section “The Slivinske Fund”, and mail to:

Foundation Chapter of Theta Chi Fraternity
3330 Founders Road
Indianapolis, IN 46268

If you have any questions or would like more information about this Fund, please contact Vicki Wilson by email at: or by phone at: 317-824-1881.

In This Section

Current News

  • IUDM raises record $2.6 million

    IUDM raises record $2.6 million

    This past weekend, over 60 representatives from Theta Chi/Alpha Iota participated in the Indiana University Dance Marathon (IUDM). Our representatives were able to raise in excess of $41,000, which went toward the grand total of $2.6 million raised for the…Read more ›
  • Fraternities compete in BMOC

    Fraternities compete in BMOC

    Last month, Alpha Iota/Indiana sophomore Joe Weber (2016) was crowned IU’s Big Man On Campus at an event hosted by Zeta Tau Alpha. Twenty-eight men from IU fraternities competed for the title of Big Man on Campus in an all-male…Read more ›
Skip to toolbar