Distinguished Alumni

speilbergSteven Spielberg

Director, Screenwriter, Producer

World Renowned Director

With a career spanning nearly half a century, Steven Spielberg is considered on of the most popular and influential filmmakers in the history of cinema. Spielberg is the recipient of numerous Academy Awards and three of his films – Jaws, E.T., and Jurasic Park – achieved box office records, each becoming the highest-grossing film at the time. Forbes puts Spielberg’s wealth at $3.3 billion.

murphyMark Murphy

President and CEO of the Green Bay Packers

Superbowl XVII Champion

Mark Murphy is the current President and CEO of the Green Bay Packers. Prior to his role with the Packers, he served as athletic director at Northwestern University and Colgate University. Murphy also played college football at Colgate University and went on to play in the NFL for the Washington Redskins while simultaneously working to earn an MBA from American University’s Kogod School of Business.

kunthDonald Knuth

Computer scientist, Mathematician, Professor Emeritus

Creator of TeX

Donald Knuth is a preeminent contributor to the field of computer science. The author of The Art of Computer Programming, Knuth has been called the “father” of the analysis of algorithms. Knuth is also the creator of the widely used TeX computer typesetting system. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Turing Award, the “Nobel Prize of computing”, and is currently Professor Emeritus at Stanford University.

corddryRob Corddry

Actor and Comedian

The Daily Show correspondent

Rob Corddry is an American actor and comedian, known for his work as correspondent on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. He also created and starred in the Adult Swim comedy series Childrens Hospital. Corddry won his first and second Emmy Awards in September of 2012 and 20

iacoccaLee Iacocca

Former Chrysler CEO

Engineered the Ford Mustang

Lee Iacocca is an American businessman known for engineering the Ford Mustang and Ford Pinto cars and his revival of the Chrysler Corporation in the 1980s. He served as President and CEO of Chrysler for 14 years and was named the 18th greatest American CEO of all time by Portfolio.

tobiasRandall Tobias

Ambassador and Chairman Emeritus

Former CEO of Eli Lilly

Currently serving as an Indiana University Trustee, Randall Tobias is a retired chairman and CEO of Eli Lilly and Company as well as AT&T International. Following his corporate career he became the first U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator with the rank of Ambassador. Ambassador Tobias is the recipient of numerous awards and distinctions and is an Alpha Iota alumnus.

bollingerLee Bollinger

Lawyer and Educator

President of Columbia University

Currently serving as the 19th president of Columbia University, Lee Bollinger is a noted legal scholar of the First Amendment and freedom of speech. He was at the center of two Supreme Court cases regarding the use of affirmative action in admissions processes. Bollinger has also served as the Chair of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York.

arnettEmmett Wallace Arnett

In Memorial (1889 – 1979)

Emmett Wallace Arnett was the first initiated member of the Alpha Iota chapter of Theta Chi Fraternity. He served as president of the Alpha Iota Building Association and, when the military required additional barracks for personnel during WWII, arranged for the Alpha Iota Chapter House to be used to provide housing.

blueSherwood BlueIn Memorial
(1905 – 1999)Sherwood Blue, Roster number 80, earned both an undergraduate and law degree from IU Bloomington. After graduation he worked in private practice for twenty years before taking a break to serve as Marion County Prosecutor for four years, only to return to private practice until 1999. He served in three positions on the Theta Chi National Board of Directors, including National President, and founded the Foundation Chapter of Theta Chi Fraternity. In 2006 the Foundation Chapter became the primary beneficiary of the Sherwood and Jane Roberts Blue Trust valued in excess of $7mil which will continue to provide more than $250k in scholarships annually to worthy Theta Chis.
warneAllan H. Warne

In Memorial (1902 – 2002)

Allan Warne was both an icon and a cornerstone, with over 70 years of active involvement with Alpha Iota. Besides being a charter member, he was pivotal in the establishment of our Realty Corporation and the acquisition of all three of our chapter homes in Bloomington. In addition to his work on behalf of the chapter, including serving for ten years on Theta Chi Fraternity’s National Board of Trustees, Brother Warne also received accolades from the Indianapolis community for his civic involvement. He was a founding member of the Senior Citizen’s Center in Indianapolis, the first President of the Central Indiana Council on Aging, and served as a member of the Board of Directors of the YMCA of Greater Indianapolis. With his financial background, leadership, and oversight perspective, he was informally and affectionately known as “Mr. Integrity”.

davissonC.O. Davisson

In Memorial (1896 – 1979)

Despite an early illness which required a two-year absence from grammar school, Clarence Owen “C.O.” Davisson eventually caught up with his age group and was at the top of his class from high school through law school. Initiated at Roster number 10, Brother Davisson was the first President of Alpha Iota. After graduating, he went on to lead a noble life as an outstanding attorney and devoted family man.

In This Section

Current News

  • IUDM raises record $2.6 million

    IUDM raises record $2.6 million

    This past weekend, over 60 representatives from Theta Chi/Alpha Iota participated in the Indiana University Dance Marathon (IUDM). Our representatives were able to raise in excess of $41,000, which went toward the grand total of $2.6 million raised for the…Read more ›
  • Fraternities compete in BMOC

    Fraternities compete in BMOC

    Last month, Alpha Iota/Indiana sophomore Joe Weber (2016) was crowned IU’s Big Man On Campus at an event hosted by Zeta Tau Alpha. Twenty-eight men from IU fraternities competed for the title of Big Man on Campus in an all-male…Read more ›
Skip to toolbar