Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington
  • People


Auditions »

Events »

How To Find Us»

IU Summer Theatre»

IU Theatre»

Production History »

Blood Brothers

Blood Brothers

Blood Brothers

Music, Lyrics, and Book by Willy Russell
Directed by Murray McGibbon

Tickets Online » Ticket Info »

Press Release »

October 9-10, 13-17 at 7:30pm
October 17 at 2:00pm
Ruth N. Halls Theatre


"Exhilarating…one of the best musicals ever written" – Sunday Times (London)

Award winning director Murray McGibbon opens the Lee Norvelle Theatre and Drama Center’s 2009-2010 season at the Ruth N. Halls Theatre with Blood Brothers by Willy Russell. In this heartbreaking powerhouse of a musical, twins are separated at birth when their poverty-stricken mother realizes she cannot take care of two infants. Fate reunites them as children and, unaware of their connection, they become fast friends. Eventually both find love; unfortunately, it’s with the same woman. The brothers’ relationship spirals downward until it explodes in a tragedy of class conflict. Blood Brothers examines the issue of nature versus nurture while it exposes the disastrous effects of a cruel economy on every member of society. One of the longest-running musicals in theatre history, Blood Brothers won the Olivier Award for Best New Musical in London where the Sunday Times declared it "exhilarating . . . one of the best musicals ever written." The New York production was nominated for the Best Musical Tony. Don’t miss this musical powerhouse that is still running in London’s West End after 20 years!


Francesca Arostegui (Female Ensemble 3)

Matt Birdsong (Eddie)

Martin Brent (Mickey)

Ethan Michael Carpenter (Male Ensemble 2)

David Coleman (Male Ensemble 4)

Taylor Crousore (Sammy)

Natalie DePuy (Female Ensemble 4)

Ryan Dooley (Mr. Lyons/Conductor)

Lawrence Evans (Male Ensemble 3)

Erica Johnson (Female Ensemble 1)

Matthew Martin (Narrator)

Brianna McClellan(Linda)

Julia Mosby (Mrs. Lyons)

CJ Pawlikowski (Male Ensemble 1)

Mandy Striph (Mrs. Johnstone)

Brook Wood (Female Ensemble 2)

Production Team

Murray McGibbon (Director)

Terry LaBolt (Musical Director)

Nick Passafiume (Scenic Designer)

Lydia Dawson (Costume Designer)

Chris Wood (Lighting Designer)

Andrew Hopson (Sound Designer)

Claire LaNicca (Stage Manager)

Dominque Poulter (Assistant Director)

Jeffrey Corso (Assistant Stage Manager)

Kevin Love (Assistant Stage Manager)

Adam Noble (Movement Consultant/Fight Choreographer)

Nancy Lipschultz (Dialects Coach)