Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington
  • People


Auditions »

Events »

How To Find Us»

IU Summer Theatre»

IU Theatre»

Production History »

IU Theatre 2013: The Imaginary Invalid

The Imaginary Invalid

The Imaginary Invalid

By Molière
Directed by Gavin Cameron-Webb

Tickets Online » Ticket Info »

Read the press release

September 27, 28, October 1-4, 2013, @ 7:30 p.m.
October 5 @ 2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.

Ruth N. Halls Theatre

A Chinese translation of the video can be seen at:



“...Vibrant, Silly, Wicked...” Time Out New York

Start with a chronic hypochondriac, mounting medical bills, and a plan. Add in love triangles, mistaken identities, and sly double entendres. The result: Molière’s raucous French farce that nimbly balances slapstick and satire. His skewering of doctors and their gullible patients is bound to have you (dare we say?) in stitches.

Thursday, September 26, at 5:30 p.m. Studio Theatre
2nd floor of the Lee Norvelle Theatre and Drama Center
Join us for the Theatre Circle Lecture
"'This Fatal Marriage': The Critique of Opera in Molière's Imaginary Invalid. "
A lecture by Adjunct Faculty member Alison Calhoun

Alison Calhoun, Assistant Professor of French, will discuss comedy, music and Molière’s incensed assault on his collaborator turned rival in her Theatre Circle lecture on the eve of opening night.


Connor Blankenship (Doctor #4)

Nicole Bruce (Toinette)

David Bryant (Commercial Actor #2)

Catherine Bustos (Louison)

Will Cruitt (Doctor #2)

Evelyn Gaynor (Doctor #1)

Alexandra Goodman (Commercial Actor #1)

David Gordon-Johnson (Monsieur Purgon)

Leila Gorstein (Doctor #3)

Ethan Gresham (Monsieur Fleurant)

Emily Harpe (Béline)

Drew Jenkins (Monsieur Diafoirus)

Josh Krause (Argan)

Courtney Lucien (Angélique)

Grant Niezgodski (Cléante)

Kaleb Rich-Harris (Monsieur Bonnefoy)

Daniel Shefer (Thomas Diafoirus)

Adam St. John (Béralde)

Production Team

Gavin Cameron-Webb (Director)

David Koté (Assistant Director)

Phillip Deal (Assistant to the Director)

Andrea Ball (Scenic Designer)

Johna Sewell (Costume Designer)

Katie Gruenhagen (Lighting Designer)

Connor Ebbinghouse (Sound Designer)

John Houtler-McCoy (Technical Director/Technology)

Sandy Everett (Assistant Technical Director)

Bridgette Dreher (Props Master)

Kristen Martino (Scenic Painter)

Rachael Fernandez (Stage Manager)

Audrey Albright (Assistant Stage Manager)

Tyler Hinojosa (Assistant Stage Manager)

Henry A. McDaniel III (Voice, Texts, Dialects)

Adam McLean (Fight Choreographer)