Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington
  • People


Auditions »

Events »

How To Find Us»

IU Summer Theatre»

IU Theatre»

Production History »

IU Theatre 2016-17: The Drowsy Chaperone

Bloody, Bloody Andrew Jackson

The Drowsy Chaperone

Book by Bob Martin and Don McKellar
Music & Lyrics by Lisa Lambert and Greg Morrison
Direction by Kenneth L. Roberson
Musical Direction by Terry LaBolt
Choreography by Liza Gennaro
Associate Producers: Jocelyn Bowie & David Semmel,
Becky Hrisomalos, and Partner Level Associate Producers: Kathryn and Barry Brown

Tickets Online » Ticket Info »


April 14, 15, 18-21, 2017 @ 7:30 p.m.
April 22 @ 2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.

Ruth N. Halls Theatre
Running Time: 2 hours, including one 15 minute intermission



Gangsters-turned-pastry-chefs, seductive Spaniards, and a well-oiled chaperone will have you roaring like the 20s! In this "musical within a musical", IU Theatre icon George Pinney takes the stage to share his talent one last time, as the melancholy "Man in Chair". As he listens to his favorite record, his drab apartment gives way to the sparkling sets and lavish costumes of The Drowsy Chaperone.

The Drowsy Chaperone is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI.


George Pinney (Man in Chair)

Courtney Reid Harris (Mrs. Tottendale)

Ryan Sandy (Underling)

Matthew Weidenbener (Robert Martin)

Colin LeMoine (George)

Craig Franke (Feldzieg)

Julia Thorn (Kitty)*

Miles Tillman (Aldolpho)

Jimmy Hogan (Gangster #1)

Max Fowler (Gangster #2)

Claire Logan (Janet Van De Graaff)

Caroline Huerta (The Drowsy Chaperone)

Meadow Nguy (Trix the Aviatrix)

Connor Bernard (Superintendent)


Nicholas Gray

Jared Alexander Kelly

Ali Lidbury

Casey McCoy

Lisa Podulka

Sam Sanderson


Joshua Scott Carter

Rebecca Dwoskin

Janie Johnson

Casey Lamont

Luke Major

Jake McCutcheon

Henry Miller

Dominic Pagliaro

Katie Swaney

Michelle Zink


Broderick Balsley (Cover: Robert Martin)

Connor Bernard (Cover: Man in Chair)

Joshua Scott Carter (Cover: Gangster #2)

Rebecca Dwoskin (Cover: Trix the Aviatrix and Superintendent)

Christian Fary (Cover: Underling)

Berklea Going (Cover: Janet Van De Graaff)

Janie Johnson (Cover: Mrs. Tottendale)

Luke Major (Cover: Feldzeig)

Brianna Milan (Cover: The Drowsy Chaperone)

Andrew Minkin (Cover: Gangster #1)

Dominic Pagliaro (Cover: Aldolpho)

Robert Toms (Cover: George)


Broderick Balsley (Swing: Male Ensemble)

Nina Donville (Swing: Female Ensemble)

Henry Miller (Swing: Male Ensemble)

* Denotes Dance Captain

Production Team

Kenneth L. Roberson (Director)

Terry LaBolt (Musical Director)

Liza Gennaro (Choreographer)

Ryan P. Miller (Scenic Designer)

Chen Chen (Costume Designer)

Bridget Williams (Lighting Designer)**

Andrew Hopson (Sound Designer)

Alana Yurczyk (Props Master)

Chip Davis (Technical Director)

Christina HadleyDike (Cutter/Draper)

Cory John (Cutter/Draper)

Jeremy Smith (Assistant Scenic Designer)

Matthew Wofford (Master Electrician)

Tony Stoeri (Assistant Lighting Designer)

MacKenzie Van Tassel (Assistant Lighting Designer)

Nancy Lipschultz (Voice and Speech)

Leraldo Anzaldua (Fight Choreographer)

K. Ashlynn Abbott (Stage Manager)

Kaylee Guritz (Assistant Stage Manager)

Rochelle Hudson (Assistant Stage Manager)

Jesica Courtney (Production Dramaturg)

** Denotes 3rd Year M.F.A. Thesis Project