Catalysis & Natural Product Synthesis

Research in our laboratory is concerned with the design and development of new concepts in organic synthesis and catalysis. We deliberately push the limits of modern chemical synthesis technology in order to engineer novel reactivity principles that enable the predictable, precise and rapid creation of molecular complexity. Each of our molecular targets is deliberately chosen to challenge existing and accepted reactivity competency.

The principal objectives of our research are (1) the invention of new and broadly useful catalysis-based methods and strategies for chemical synthesis, and (2) the implementation of these methods in the efficient, concise and scalable syntheses of complex natural (and unnatural) substances.

Thomas Snaddon

Office Location: Chemistry A350C

Indiana University
Department of Chemistry
Organic Division

August 2017

Congratulations Rush for being awarded the Chester Davis Fellowship in Organic Chemistry!

July 2017

We welcome summer student, Jeri Smith to the group!

April 2017

We welcome back our new PostDoc, Dr. James Fyfe, from Scotland (Ph.D. University of Strathclyde, Advisor: Prof. Allan Watson)

April 2017

Congratulations Evan for recieving the John H. Billman Summer Scholarship!

March 2017

We would like to thank all of the prospective graduate students who visited for IU's graduate recruitment weekend this year!

February 2017

Toya passes her candidacy exam, congratulations!

January 2017

Theresa heads back to Germany to begin her Masters with Prof. Dr. Ryan Gilmour at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Good luck Theresa!

November 2016

Rush passes his candidacy exam, congratulations!

October 2016

We are very grateful to have been awarded R01 support from the National Institutes of Health to continue our cooperative catalysis work

September 2016

We bid fairwell to our PostDoc, Dr. Dung Do, who is heading back to his home country of Vietnam as a professor of chemistry. Thank you for everything Do! You will be missed. Best of luck in Vietnam!

August 2016

We welcome visiting scholar, Theresa Hostmann, from Prof. Dr. Ryan Gilmour's group at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, to our group!

August 2016

We welcome our new undergraduate researcher, Evan Keiser, to the group!

May 2016

Our paper has reached the top 20 most read articles in JACS over the past month!

April 2016

Our first paper has been accepted into the Journal of the American Chemical Society and is currently up on ASAPs! DOI: 10.1021/jacs.6b01694

April 2016

Kevin attends the H. C. Brown Lectures at Purdue and recieves an award for his poster presentation. Congrats Kev!

April 2016

The Snaddon group receives a grant from the American Chemical Society's Petroleum Research Fund!

April 2016

The Snaddon group heads to Bloomington's Wonderlab to help the local Girl Scouts obtain their science badge!

April 2016

The Snaddon Group welcomes our new postdoc Colin Pearson (Ph.D. University of Strathclyde; Advisor: Prof. William Kerr, PostDoc Cambridge; Advisor: Prof. Dr. Steven V. Ley, FRS).

December 2015

Ciaran heads back to Scotland. Thanks for everything Ciaran!

November 2015

Kevin passes his 5th semester candidacy exam, Congratulations Kevin!

October 2015

We welcome graduate students Chao Yang and Luke Hutchings-Goetz to the group!

October 2015

Jamie heads back to Scotland. Thanks for everything Jamie!

September 2015

We welcome visiting scholar from Scotland, Ciaran Seath (Advisor: Prof. Allan Watson, University of Strathclyde), to the group

July 2015

Tom's paper with Prof. Steven V. Ley, FRS, is accepted into Chemistry a European Journal DOI: 10.1002/chem.201501877 Congratulations Tom!

July 2015

We welcome visiting scholar from Scotland, Jamie Fyfe (Advisor: Prof. Allan Watson, University of Strathclyde), to the group

June 2015

We welcome undergraduate, Ralph Iatarola, to the group

December 2014

Ethan departs to the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung under the advisement of Prof. Benjamin List. Thank you Ethan and good luck!

October 2014

We welcome graduate students Jess Amos, Omaru Kabia, Toya Rush, and Rush Scaggs to the group

September 2014

We welcome postdoc, Dung Tien Do (Ph.D. University of North Caronlina; Advisor: Prof. Jeff Johnson), to the group

May 2014

We welcome undergraduate, Ali Roper, and visiting scholar from Singapore, Ethan Tan, to the group

December 2013

We welcome postdoc, J. Cullen Klein (Ph.D. Indiana University Bloomington; Advisor: Prof. David R. Williams, PostDoc Max-Planck-Institut für Kolloid- und Grenzflächenforschung; Advisor: Prof. Dr. Peter H. Seeberger), to the group

November 2013

We welcome graduate student, Kevin Schwarz, and undergraduate, Spencer Brauchla, to the group

August 2013

Research Begins in the Snaddon Group