First Steps

Students walking on steps at Wells Library

What kind of school is IUB? How is it organized?

Indiana University is a research school. The university’s faculty members conduct research, publish books and articles about that research and educate students.   The faculty are highly accomplished in their respective fields and are considered to be world-class experts on the subjects they teach (IU’s mission statement).

It may be helpful to think of Indiana University Bloomington (IUB) as a forest which is made up of ten different key trees or schools. Each school is comprised of its own schools, departments and programs (or majors). Each school has its own policies and rules for admissions, grades, degree requirements, and graduation.

Below is the list of schools at Indiana University Bloomington:

  1. College of Arts and Sciences (COLL)
     School of Global and International Studies
     IU Media School
  2. School of Education (EDUC)
  3. School of Public Health (SPH)
  4. School of Informatics and Computing (INFO)
  5. Jacobs School of Music (MUS)
  6. Kelley School of Business (BUS)
  7. School of Nursing (NURS)
  8. School of Optometry (OPT)
  9. School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA)
  10. School of Social Work (SWK)

In particular, note that there is a difference between the College and the University: people often use these terms interchangeably, when in fact they refer to two different, though related, entities.