Indiana University
  • People
  •  
  •  

The Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis

Menu:

Affiliated Faculty

The Workshop Affiliated Faculty is both multidisciplinary and collaborative, composed of scholars from Indiana University and other organizations with a central interest in the study of institutions (political, economic, legal, etc.) and/or combined social-ecological systems. Local faculty members are expected to participate on a regular basis in Workshop colloquium presentations, seminar discussions, and biannual miniconferences. The faculty serve as a crucial link between the activities of the Workshop and traditional fields of study on the IU campus and at other universities, and to the graduate students in those fields.

Guidelines for Becoming an Affiliated Faculty Member

Graduate Courses Taught by Affiliated Faculty at IUB


Senior Research Fellows

Beginning in 2013, the Workshop Advisory Council (WAC) created a new honorific rank for eligible Affiliated Faculty—that of “Senior Research Fellow.” Faculty who have attained the rank of full professor and made extraordinary contributions over an extended period of time to the Ostrom Workshop via scholarship, service, and/or teaching will be nominated and selected annually by the WAC to join previously honored colleagues.

Senior Research Fellows: Barbara Allen, Michael McGinnis, Filippo Sabetti, and James Walker.


Workshop Affiliated Faculty at Indiana University

Shahzeen Attari School of Public & Environmental Affairs sattari@indiana.edu  
Stephen Benard Department of Sociology sbenard@indiana.edu  
William Bianco Department of Political Science wbianco@indiana.edu  
Lisa Blomgren Amsler School of Public & Environmental Affairs lbingham@indiana.edu  
William Blomquist School of Liberal Arts; Department of Political Science, IUPUI blomquis@iupui.edu  
Jennifer Brass School of Public & Environmental Affairs brassj@indiana.edu  
Eduardo Brondízio Department of Anthropology; Anthropological Center for Training and Research on Global Environmental Change ebrondiz@indiana.edu  
Jerome Busemeyer Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences jbusemey@indiana.edu  
Sanya Carley School of Public & Environmental Affairs scarley@indiana.edu  
Daniel Cole Maurer School of Law; School of Public & Environmental Affairs dancole@indiana.edu  
Aurelian Craiutu Department of Political Science acraiutu@indiana.edu  
Tom Evans Department of Geography; Director, CIPEC evans@indiana.edu  
James Farmer School of Public Health jafarmer@indiana.edu  
Burnell Fischer School of Public & Environmental Affairs; Interim Director, Ostrom Workshop bufische@indiana.edu  
Kathleen Gilbert Department of Applied Health Science gilbertk@indiana.edu  
Kerry Krutilla School of Public & Environmental Affairs krutilla@indiana.edu  
Joan Pong Linton Department of English jlinton@indiana.edu  
Lauren M. MacLean Department of Political Science macleanl@indiana.edu  
John Maxwell Kelley School of Business jwmax@indiana.edu  
Michael McGinnis Department of Political Science; Senior Research Fellow, Ostrom Workshop mcginnis@indiana.edu  
Ajay Mehrotra Maurer School of Law amehrotr@indiana.edu  
Lloyd Orr Professor Emeritus, Department of Economics orr@indiana.edu  
Roger Parks Professor Emeritus, School of Public & Environmental Affairs parks@indiana.edu  
Kenneth Richards School of Public & Environmental Affairs kenricha@indiana.edu  
Justin Ross School of Public & Environmental Affairs justross@indiana.edu  
Rinku Roy Chowdhury Department of Geography rroychow@indiana.edu  
Amos Sawyer Affiliated Research Associate, Ostrom Workshop asawyer@indiana.edu
Scott Shackelford Kelley School of Business sjshacke@indiana.edu
W. Travis Selmier II (Vitae) Ostrom Workshop wselmier@indiana.edu
Nazif Shahrani Central Eurasian Studies, Anthropology, and Near Eastern Languages and Cultures shahrani@indiana.edu  
Saba Siddiki School of Public & Environmental Affairs, IUPUI ssiddiki@iupui.edu
Regina Smyth Department of Political Science rsmyth@indiana.edu  
Jeffrey Stake Maurer School of Law stake@indiana.edu  
Verlon Stone Department of Folklore & Ethnomusicology; Liberian Collections stonevl@indiana.edu  
Catherine Tucker Department of Anthropology tuckerc@indiana.edu  
James Walker Department of Economics; Senior Research Fellow, Ostrom Workshop walkerj@indiana.edu  


Workshop Affiliated Faculty at Other Universities

Arun Agrawal School of Natural Resources, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI arunagra@umich.edu  
T. K. Ahn Department of Political Science and International Relations, Seoul National University, Seoul, KOREA tkahn@snu.ac.kr
Paul Aligica Mercatus Center, George Mason University, Arlington, VA daligica@gmu.edu  
Barbara Allen Department of Political Science, Carleton College, Northfield, MN; Senior Research Fellow, Ostrom Workshop ballen@carleton.edu  
J. Marty Anderies School of Human Evolution and Social Change, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ Marty.Anderies@asu.edu  
Krister Andersson Department of Political Science, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO krister.andersson@colorado.edu  
Eduardo Araral Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, National University of Singapore, SINGAPORE ed_araral@nus.edu.sg  
Gwen Arnold Department of Environmental Science and Policy, University of California, Davis gbarnold@ucdavis.edu  
Craig Anthony (Tony) Arnold Brandeis School of Law, University of Louisville, KY tony.arnold@louisville.edu
Matthew Auer Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Dean of the Faculty, Bates College, Lewiston, ME mauer@bates.edu  
Joseph Bahati Uganda Forestry Resources and Institutions Center, Makerere University, Kampala, UGANDA bahati@forest.mak.ac.ug  
Abwoli Banana Uganda Forestry Resources and Institutions Center, Makerere University, Kampala, UGANDA banana@forest.mak.ac.ug  
Xavier Basurto Sustainability Science, Nicholas School of the Environment, Duke University, Beaufort, NC xavier.basurto@duke.edu  
Kenneth Bickers Department of Political Science, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO kenneth.bickers@colorado.edu  
Esther Blanco Department of Public Finance, University of Innsbruck, AUSTRIA esther.blanco@uibk.ac  
Juan Camilo Cárdenas Facultad de Economia, Universidad de Los Andes, Bogota, COLOMBIA jccarden@uniandes.edu.co  
Sue Crawford Department of Political Science and International Relations, Creighton University, Omaha, NE crawford@creighton.edu  
Shane Day School of Public Administration, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM shaneday@unm.edu
Daniel DeCaro Center for Land Use & Environmental Responsibility, University of Louisville, KY daniel.decaro@louisville.edu
Michael Drescher School of Planning, University of Waterloo, Canada mdrescher@uwaterloo.ca  
Salvador Espinosa School of Public Affairs, San Diego State University, San Diego, CA salvador.espinosa@sdsu.edu  
Brett Frischmann Cardozo Law School, Yeshiva University, New York frischma@yu.edu  
Clark Gibson Department of Political Science, University of California, San Diego, CA ccgibson@ucsd.edu  
William Gombya-Ssembajjwe Uganda Forestry Resources and Institutions Center, Makerere University, Kampala, UGANDA gombya@forest.mak.ac.ug  
Konrad Hagedorn Department of Agricultural Economics, Humboldt University, Berlin, GERMANY k.hagedorn@agrar.hu-berlin.de  
Markus Hanisch Department of Agricultural Economics, Humboldt University, Berlin, GERMANY hanischm@rz.hu-berlin.de  
Charlotte Hess Associate Dean Emerita, Syracuse University Libraries hess@syr.edu  
Robert Holahan Environmental Studies Program, Binghamton University, Binghamton, NY rholahan@binghamton.edu  
Marco Janssen School of Human Evolution & Social Change, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ marco.janssen@asu.edu  
Prakash Kashwan Department of Political Science, University of Connecticut, Storrs, CT prakash.kashwan@uconn.edu  
Derek Kauneckis Department of Political Science, University of Nevada, Reno kauneck@unr.edu  
In Kim Graduate School of Public Administration, Pusan National University, Pusan Metropolitan City, SOUTH KOREA inkim@pusan.ac.kr  
Kwanbo Kim Graduate School of Public & International Affairs, The Catholic University of Korea, Puchon City, SOUTH KOREA kwanbo@catholic.ac.kr  
Jesper Larsson Department of Economics, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala, SWEDEN jesper.larsson@slu.se  
Myungsuk Lee Department of Public Administration, Sungkyunkwan University, Seoul, SOUTH KOREA mslee@skku.edu  
Maria Claudia Lopez Department of Community Sustainability, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI mclopezperez@gmail.com  
Thomas Lyon School of Natural Resources and Environment, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI tplyon@umich.edu  
Michael J. Madison School of Law, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA madison@pitt.edu  
Anas Malik Department of Political Science, Xavier University, Cincinnati, OH malik@xavier.edu  
Jennifer McKay Business Law, University of South Australia, Adelaide, Australia jennifer.mckay@unisa.edu.au  
Tun Myint Department of Political Science, Carleton College, Northfield, MN tmyint@carleton.edu
Amy Poteete Department of Political Science, Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, CANADA amypoteete@gmail.com  
Filippo Sabetti Department of Political Science, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, CANADA filippo.sabetti@mcgill.ca  
Edella Schlager School of Government and Public Policy, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ schlager@email.arizona.edu  
Michael Schoon School of Sustainability, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ michael.schoon@asu.edu  
Larry Schroeder Department of Public Administration, Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY ldschroe@maxwell.syr.edu  
Charles Schweik Department of Environmental Conservation & Center for Public Policy and Administration, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA cschweik@pubpol.umass.edu  
Arthur Sherwood Scott College of Business, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN arthurlsherwood@gmail.com  
Ganesh Shivakoti School of Environment, Resources and Development, Asian Institute of Technology, Pathumthani, THAILAND ganesh@ait.ac.th  
Beate Sissenich Center for European and Mediterranean Studies, New York University bsisseni@gmail.com  
Mark Sproule-Jones Emeritus Professor, Department of Political Science, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, CANADA sproulem@mcmaster.ca  
Katherine Strandburg New York University School of Law, New York katherine.strandburg@nyu.edu  
Andreas Thiel Department of Agricultural Economics, Humboldt University Berlin, GERMANY a.thiel@staff.hu-berlin.de  
Jon Unruh Department of Geography, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, CANADA jon.unruh@mcgill.ca  
Tommaso Vitale Department of Sociology, Sciences Po Paris, FRANCE tommaso.vitale@sciences-po.fr  
Lynne Westphal US Department of Agriculture, Northern Research Station, Evanston, IL lwestphal@fs.fed.us
Rick Wilson Department of Political Science, Rice University, Houston, TX rkw@rice.edu
James Wunsch Department of Political Science and International Relations, Creighton University, Omaha, NE jwunsch@creighton.edu