wow5logo

WORKING GROUPS

The Working Group submissions deadline has passed.


ABSTRACTS FOR PRESENTATIONS

For those scheduled to participate in a Working Group, we require Abstract submissions for your presentation via the online Abstract Submission Form below. (Note: Unaffiliated abstracts are no longer being accepted.) Paper submissions associated with presentations are welcome, but they are not required.

ONLINE ABSTRACT SUBMISSION FORM


WORKING GROUP ABSTRACTS

Link to PDF of Submitted Working Group Abstracts.


WORKING GROUPS AND COORDINATORS:

1. Addressing the Complexities of Property Rights in Financial Markets
Coordinator: Travis Selmier II (wselmier@indiana.edu)

2. Analyzing the Role of Polycentric Governance for Enhancing Resilience in SESs
Coordinator: Claudia Pahl-Wostl (cpahlwos@uni-osnabrueck.de)

3. Applications of the SES Framework So Far
Coordinator: Mansee Bal (bal.mansee@gmail.com)

4. Behavioral Experiments to Study Social-Ecological Systems
Coordinator: Marco Janssen (marco.janssen@asu.edu)

5. Beyond Truisms: Exploring the Contributions of Institutional Analysis to the Study of Climate Change Adaptation?
Coordinator: Graham Epstein (gepstein@indiana.edu)

6. Cognition and Norms: Integrating across Multiple Perspectives Addressing Social Dilemmas
Coordinator: Leandro F. F. Meyer (leandro.meyer@ufra.edu.br)

7. Common Pool and Crowdsourcing in Health Informatics
Coordinator: L. Jean Camp (ljcamp@indiana.edu)

8. The Commons as Transformative Paradigm: Interweaving the Different Variations of Commons Logic to Build Commons Abundance
Coordinators: Wolfgang Hoeschele (whoesch@truman.edu) and Helene Finidori (hfinidori@yahoo.com)

9. Community Commons
Coordinator: Ryan Conway (rtconway@indiana.edu)

10. Working Together: The IAD, Fieldwork, and Integrative Methodologies
Coordinators: Eduardo S. Brondizio (ebrondiz@indiana.edu) and François-Michel Le Tourneau (fmlt@fmlt.net)

11. Co-Operative Institutions and the Bloomington School: A Mutually Reinforcing Relationship—Roundtable Panel
Coordinators: Keith Taylor (taylokea@indiana.edu) and Art Sherwood (arthurlsherwood@gmail.com)

12. Current Trends in Using Experiments in Studying Collective Action and the Commons—Roundtable Panel
Coordinators: Esther Blanco (esther.blanco@uibk.ac.at), Marco Janssen (marco.janssen@asu.edu), and Achim Schlüter (achim.schlueter@zmt-bremen.de)

13. Daniel Cole and Michael McGinnis's new work on Lin’s work; The Political Economy of Elinor Ostrom: A Compendium
Roundtable Panel
Coordinator: Barbara Allen (ballen@carleton.edu)

14. Democracy and Sustainability: Linking Vincent and Lin’s Works
Coordinators: Brian Lambert (brian.joseth.lambert@gmail.com) and Yuvika Diwan (yuvika.diwan@gmail.com)

15. Empirical Assessment of Complex Social-Ecological Systems:  Methodological Frontiers for Measuring Complexity and Change in Sustainable Resource Management
Coordinators: Tanya Hayes (hayest@seattleu.edu) and Lauren Persha (lpersha@email.unc.edu)

16. Experiments on Destruction of Natural Resources
Coordinator: Esther Blanco (esther.blanco@uibk.ac.at)

17. Extending the Design Principles to the Study of Land Trusts and Land Protection
Coordinators: James Farmer (jafarmer@indiana.edu) and Tatyana B. Ruseva (rusevatb@appstate.edu)

18. External Induction and Support of Collective Action
Coordinator: Kinga Boenning (kinga.boenning@zalf.de)

19. Federalism and Conflict: Looking into Polycentrism
Coordinator: Katharine Farrell (katharine.farrell@qub.ac.uk)

20. Field-Based Research on Adaptive Governance of Forest Commons: Theoretical and Methodological Challenges
Coordinator: Krister Andersson (anderssk@colorado.edu)

21. Food Policy and Local Governance
Coordinator: Gustavo Gordillo (gusto.gustavo@gmail.com)

22. The Governance of Infrastructures: Applying a Social-Ecological System Approach
Coordinator: Rolf Künneke (r.w.kunneke@tudelft.nl)

23. Governance of Knowledge Commons (GKC)
Coordinator: Charles Schweik (cschweik@pubpol.umass.edu)

24. How Does Research on CPRs and Collective Action Translate into Practice? Working Group on the Interface of Research and Practice
Coordinator: Kinga Boenning (kinga.boenning@zalf.de)

25. Informing Nonprofit and Voluntary Action Studies through the Work of Elinor and Vincent Ostrom
Coordinators: Brenda Bushouse (bushouse@polsci.umass.edu), Brent Never (neverb@umkc.edu), and Robert Christensen (rc@uga.edu)

26. Peace Building, Security and Development in Africa
Coordinator:
Bamidele Olowu (bamidele.olowu@yahoo.com)

27. Institutions, Behavior, and Policy Outcomes
Coordinators: Salvador Espinosa (Salvador.espinosa@sdsu.edu) and Saba Siddiki (ssiddiki@iupui.edu)

28. N/A

29. Lab, Field or Natural Field Experiments for Analyzing Governance of CPR Resources?
Coordinator: Achim Schlüter (achim.schlueter@zmt-bremen.de)

30. Learning about the Large-Scale Commons through the Social-Ecological Systems Meta-Analysis Database (SESMAD)
Coordinator: Michael Cox (Michael.E.Cox@Dartmouth.Edu)

31. Michael McGinnis’s Readings from the Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis, 3 vols.—Roundtable Panel
Coordinator: Barbara Allen (ballen@carleton.edu)

32. The Relevance and Practical Application of Multi-Level Governance Arrangements for Managing Natural Resources
Coordinator: Carolina Navarrete Frías (c.navarrete@cgiar.org)

33. Paul Dragos Aligica’s Institutional Diversity and Political Economy: The Ostroms and BeyondRoundtable Panel
Coordinator: Filippo Sabetti (filippo.sabetti@mcgill.ca)

34. Case Study Investigations into Community Ecosystem Management
Coordinator: Anne MacKinnon (amack@vcn.com)

35. Individual Motives and System Behavior
Coordinator: Jacob Bower-Bir (jbowerbi@indiana.edu)

36. Polycentricity Theory in Water Governance
Coordinators: Bryan Bruns (bryanbruns@yahoo.com) and Raul Pacheco-Vega (raul.pacheco-vega@cide.edu)

37. N/A

38. Power in Institutions and Institutional Analysis
Coordinators: Prakash Kashwan (prakash.kashwan@uconn.edu), Gustavo Garcia Lopez (garcial.gustavo@gmail.com), and Insa Theesfeld (theesfeld@iamo.de)

39. Radical Commons
Coordinator: Ryan Conway (rtconway@indiana.edu)

40. Religion and Federalism
Coordinator: Anas Malik (malik@xavier.edu)

41. Scoping the Tools for Institutional Analysis of Social-Ecological Technical Systems (SETS): The Workshop in Institutional Analysis of Social-Ecological and Technical Systems (WINS) at IRI THESys, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Coordinator: Andreas Thiel (a.thiel@staff.hu-berlin.de)

42. The Study of Foundational Religious (Islamic) Texts as Commons
Coordinators: Anas Malik (malik@xavier.edu) and Nazif Shahrani (shahrani@indiana.edu)

43. Understanding Robustness to Disturbance in Irrigation SES: Moving beyond CPR Theory and Static Analyses
Coordinators: Sergio Villamayor-Tomas (villamas@hu-berlin.de) and Eduardo Araral (ed_araral@nus.edu.sg)

44. The Use of Meta-Analysis in Studies of the Commons—Coordinating Efforts and Sharing Knowledge
Coordinator: Tom Evans (evans@indiana.edu)

45. Using and Adapting the IAD Framework to Analyze Organizational Dynamics and Large-Scale Policy Processes
Coordinators: Forrest Fleischman (blackspruce@gmail.com) and Gwen Arnold (gbarnold@ucdavis.edu)

46. Vincent Ostrom’s The Quest to Understand Human Affairs, 2 vols.—Roundtable Panel
Coordinator: Filippo Sabetti (filippo.sabetti@mcgill.ca)

47. What Is To Be Done? Charting Future Research Program, Prospects, and Directions—PLENARY ADDRESS
Coordinator: Filippo Sabetti (filippo.sabetti@mcgill.ca)

48. N/A

49. The Workshop as Part of Civic Studies—Roundtable Panel
Coordinator: Karol Soltan (ksoltan@umd.edu)

50. Revising the Social-Ecological Systems Framework?—Roundtable Panel
Coordinator: Tom Evans (evans@indiana.edu)

51. Community in Action: The IAD Framework and Emerging Solutions
Coordinator: Arlene Hopkins (arlene.hopkins@gmail.com)

52. Commons in Historical Perspective
Coordinator: Tine De Moor (t.demoor@uu.nl)