Send Feedback
What is Intellectual Property?

The Intellectual Property Policy at Indiana University has five basic elements: definitions, categories of intellectual property, the distribution of revenues, dispute resolution within the university, and implementation. Under this policy, the primary division of intellectual property is between patentable and copyrighted works. Generally speaking, ownership of patentable work is vested in the University. Copyrighted works are subdivided into Traditional Works of Scholarship, ownership of which remains with the creator of the work, and University Works, as to which the University retains ownership. The revenues from intellectual property owned by the University are distributed according to the formula set out in this policy.

Intellectual Property Policy for all campuses

Note:  Faculty on the Indianapolis campus or one of the regional medical centers should check with the Indianapolis Grant Services Office for instructions on IPA procedures.

« Return to previous FAQs page