Sakai KB home

In Sakai 2.9, how do I create or delete sites?

On this page:


Creating a site

To create a site:

  1. In your My Workspace menubar, click Worksite Setup.

  2. At the top of the Worksite Setup page, click New.

  3. Under "Site Type", click the radio button next to course site, project site, or portfolio site to choose the type of site you want to create. For a course site, you'll also need to use the Academic term: drop-down list to select the proper term.

  4. Click Continue.

Continue as described below for:

Course sites

  1. Select the subject, course, and section. If none apply, select Still cannot find your course/section?

  2. If you chose to add a roster not appearing on the list, you will be prompted to manually enter class information in various fields. To add more than one roster, in the Add More Roster(s)? drop-down list, select the number of additional rosters you want to add. You might also have to enter the username of someone authorized to allow a roster or rosters site access, along with a message containing any special instructions for your request.

  3. Click Continue.

  4. Under "Course Site Information", you have the option of typing a long and/or short description of your site. The long description will appear on your site's home page; the short description will appear in the public list of all sites on the system.

  5. To change the appearance of your site, choose a skin from the Appearance (Theme): drop-down list.

  6. In the "Site Contact Name:" and "Site Contact Email:" fields, enter the name and email address of the person whom participants can contact if they have problems or questions.

  7. Click Continue.

  8. Under "Course Site Tools", check the boxes next to the tools you want on your site. If you select the following tools, you will see a form for more information:

    • Email Archive: Provide an alias (i.e., username) for your site's email address, and then click Continue.
    • News: Provide a title and source URL for your news feed. To add more feeds, use the More News Tools? drop-down list, and then click Continue.
    • Web Content: Provide a title and source URL. To add more links, use the More Web Content Tools drop-down list.

  9. You can reuse material from other sites you own. Choose one of the following:

    • No, thanks.
    • Yes, from these sites:  Use the scrolling menu to select the sites with the material you want to reuse.

  10. Click Continue.

  11. Under "Site Status", select Publish site to make it available to site participants. If you don't want to publish your site at this time, you can do it later through Site Info. For instructions, see Publishing or unpublishing a site.

    Also, you can allow your site to be joined by anyone with authorization to log into the system.

    1. Choose Allow anyone to join the site with valid login id .
    2. Use the drop-down list to select a role to assign people who join your site.

  12. Click Continue.

  13. Under "Confirm Your Course Site Setup", review your site information. To make changes, click Back. If the information is correct, click Request Site to submit your course site request.

To make changes to your site, see Site Info.

Back to top

Project sites

To create a project site, continue with the following steps:

  1. Under "Project Site Information", in the "Site Title:" field, type a title for your site.

  2. In the corresponding fields, you have the option of typing a long and/or short description of your site. The long description will appear on your site's home page; the short description appears in the public list of all sites on the system.

  3. If you'd like to use an icon image, provide its URL in the "Icon URL:" field.

  4. In the "Site Contact Name:" and "Site Contact Email:" fields, enter the name and email address of the person whom participants can contact if they have problems or questions.

  5. Click Continue.

  6. Under "Project Site Tools", check the boxes next to the tools you want to provide on your site, and click Continue.

    • Email Archive: Provide an alias (i.e., username) for your site's email address, and then click Continue.
    • News: Provide a title and source URL for your news feed. To add more feeds, use the More News Tools? drop-down list, and then click Continue.
    • Web Content: Provide a title and source URL. To add more links, use the More Web Content Tools drop-down list.

  7. You can reuse material from other sites you own. Choose one of the following:

    • No, thanks.
    • Yes, from these sites:  Use the scrolling menu to select the sites with the material you want to reuse.

  8. Click Continue.

  9. Under "Project Site Access", select Publish site to make it available to site participants. If you don't want to publish your site at this time, you can do it later through Site Info. For instructions, see Publishing or unpublishing a site.

  10. To indicate who can access your site, choose from the following Site Visibility and Global Access options:

    • Private: Only the people you add as participants can see your site.
    • Display in public site list: Anyone with authorization to log into the system can see your site in the site directory, and can access shared files.

    Also, you can allow your site to be joined by anyone with authorization to log into the system.

    1. Choose Allow anyone to join the site with valid login id.
    2. Use the drop-down list to select a role to assign people who join your site.

  11. Click Continue.

  12. Under "Confirm Your Project Site Setup", review the information about your site. If it's correct, click Create Site. To make changes, click Back.

Your new site will be listed in My Workspace on the Worksite Setup page. To make changes to your new site, see Site Info.

Back to top

Deleting a site

To delete a site that you own:

  1. In your My Workspace menubar, click Worksite Setup.

  2. Check the box next to the site you want to delete. Then, at the top of the Worksite Setup page, click Delete.

    Note: Deleting a site removes the entire site's content and cannot be undone. No one else will be able to access the deleted site.

  3. Click Remove.

Back to top

Also see:

Last modified on May 28, 2013.