Sakai KB home

Using Sakai 2.8 Tests & Quizzes, how do I retract an assessment?

Note: To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

You can remove (i.e., delete) both pending assessments and published assessments. You can also retract a published assessment from student access, and then make it available to students again later.

Retracting a published assessment

  1. Under "Published Assessments", from the drop-down menu for the assessment you want to retract, select Settings.

  2. On the "Settings" page, click Delivery Dates.

  3. You can either retract your assessment immediately or specify a date and time.

    • To retract the assessment immediately, click Retract Now. Then, click Retract, or click Cancel to return to the "Settings" page.

    • To retract the assessment at a specified date and time, click the calendar icon to the right of the "Retract Date" text box. Select a date and time, and then, at the bottom of the screen, click Save Settings.

When you retract an assessment, it remains under "Published Assessments", but moves from the "Active (testing in progress)" section to the "Inactive (no student access)" section.

To return a retracted assessment to active status (i.e., to re-open it for submissions), follow the above steps, but delete the date and time from the "Retract Date" text box. The assessment will have the same URL as it did before you retracted it.

Note: Students cannot take or submit an assessment that has been retracted.

Removing an assessment

  1. Under "Published Assessments" or "Pending Assessments", from the drop-down menu for the assessment in question, select Remove.

  2. Click Remove again to confirm.

Note: Removing a published assessment deletes all student submissions and the corresponding gradebook item.

Note: You can only export the pending copy of the assessment for use in future semesters, not the published copy. Do not delete the pending copy unless you know you won't need it in the future.

Also see:

Last modified on June 30, 2015.