Sakai KB home

Using Sakai 2.8, what are the participant roles, and how do I find out what my role is?

The following roles are available:

Course sites

  • Instructor: Instructors have full permissions throughout the site, including the ability to publish the site and set its global access. Instructors can read, revise, delete, and add both content and participants to a site.

  • Teaching Assistant: Teaching Assistants can read, add, and revise most content in their sections.

  • Student: Students can read content, and add content to a site where appropriate.

Project sites

  • Maintain: The Maintain role has full permissions throughout the site, including the ability to publish the site and set its global access. The Maintain role can read, revise, delete, and add both content and participants to a site.

  • Access: The Access role can read content and add content to a site where appropriate.

Determining your role

To find out what your role is:

  1. From My Workspace, click Worksite Setup.

  2. You will see a list of the sites to which you belong.

    • If a checkbox is next to the name of the site, you may check the box and click Edit. On this screen, you will see a list of the site's members. Next to the members' names, you will see a drop-down menu that shows the role.

    • If no checkbox is next to the name of the site, your role is limited to merely accessing and participating in the site; you do not have full permissions. While you are a member of that site, you cannot change your role or that of others.

Also see:

Last modified on September 10, 2014.