Sakai KB home

In Sakai 2.8, how do I change my privacy status?

Note: The functionality described here may not be available by default in all installations; contact your site administrator for more information.

For privacy reasons, you may want to hide your name from other participants in a site. Also, you may not want them to be able to contact you through the site.

To hide your name from other participants and prevent them from contacting you through the site, on the site's Home page, under "Privacy Status", select Hide Me, and then click Update. To change your privacy status to visible, select Show Me, and then click Update.

You can also manage your privacy status (for a particular site or for all sites at once) at any time using Preferences:

  1. Choose the My Workspace tab.

  2. From the menubar, click Preferences.

  3. Near the top, click Privacy Status.

    • To change your privacy status for a particular site:

      1. Next to "Choose a site", use the drop-down list to select the appropriate site.
      2. Select either Remain hidden in this site or Make me visible in this site, and then click Update.

    • To change your privacy status for all your sites at once, click either Show Me in All Sites or Hide Me in All Sites.

Things to consider

  • Students who are hidden will remain visible to instructors, project owners, and assistants. In the Roster tool, each participant's privacy status is indicated by an icon next to his or her name.

  • Students who are hidden will not be visible to other participants in the Roster tool or the "Users Present" area.

  • Students who are hidden will not appear in the recipient list for messages in the Messages tool.

  • Group visibility is not affected by an individual's privacy status.

    For example, if you are a student with privacy status set to hidden, you won't appear in the recipient list in the Messages tool, and other students won't be able to send messages directly to you as an individual. However, if your instructor has added you to a group (see Managing groups), you will still receive messages sent to that group.

Last modified on March 27, 2014.