Sakai KB home

In Sakai 2.9 Messages, what settings can I modify?

On this page:


Automatic forwarding

All participants can use the automatic forwarding feature to send an email message to an email address of their choosing, upon receipt of each message in the Messages tool. To enable this feature:

  1. In the menubar of the relevant site, choose Messages.

  2. Click Settings, set "Auto Forward Messages" to Yes, and enter your preferred email address.

  3. Click Save Settings.

Back to top

Send Cc options

Note: To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

By default, when composing a message, site participants can select the Send Cc option to forward a copy of the message to the recipient's authorized email address.

Users with an administrative role (instructors, assistants, project owners, and coordinators) can enable or disable the Send Cc option as follows:

  1. In the site's menubar, choose Messages.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. Next to "Allow sending copies to recipients' email address(es)", choose the desired option.

  4. Click Save Settings.

Back to top

Hiding custom groups

Users with an administrative role (instructors, assistants, project owners, and coordinators) can choose to remove/hide custom groups from the "To" field. To hide a custom group:

  1. In the menubar of the relevant site, choose Messages.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. Next to "Groups hidden in To field", from the "Add Group" drop-down box, choose the group you would like to hide.

  4. Click Save Settings.

Note: When composing a message, users with the appropriate permissions will be able to select the hidden group from the "Bcc" field. If only "Bcc" recipients are selected, you'll need to select yourself from the "To" field in order to send the message.

Back to top

Also see:

Last modified on May 06, 2015.