Search
...
Undergraduates Graduate Students Faculty Institutes & Centers Contact

JAMIE OSLAWSKI-LOPEZ

Jamie Oslawski-Lopez

I am a Ph.D. candidate in Sociology at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana. I earned my B.A. in Sociology and English Writing in 2004 from DePauw University and my M.A. in Sociology in 2006 from Ohio State University. After earning my M.A., I spent three years working in marketing research first as an analyst and then as a project manager.

I primarily utilize quantitative methods in my research, which focuses on gender inequality and family life. For example, in my dissertation research, I use 2012 International Social Survey Programme (ISSP) Family and Changing Gender Roles Module data to investigate cross-national patterns and outcomes of outsourcing household labor, taking into account individual-level and country-level gender inequality. Beyond my dissertation, I published chapters and encyclopedia entries in my area of interest. Specifically, my co-authors and I examine various inequalities in family life in our chapter "Unequal but Together: Inequality Within and Between Families," published in the Handbook of the Social Psychology of Inequality. I also explore gender inequalities in the division of household labor in the entries I contributed to The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies titled "Gender and Household Labor" and the "Second Shift."

I teach core sociological courses such as Introduction to Sociology, Introduction to Social Research, and Statistics for Sociology. My students know me as the instructor who actively blurs lines between textbook material and popular media. For example, in an introductory level course, I created a course Pinterest page and asked students to “pin” images and text relevant to our course material. For Introduction to Social Research and Statistics for Sociology, I relate methodological and statistical concepts to internet memes. My use of popular media in the classroom helps me achieve one of my pedagogical goals: to extend my students’ understanding of sociology beyond the classroom and into the everyday world.

In my free time, I enjoy spending time with my husband, Marcelino, and daughter, Augusta. I also enjoy running, swimming, reading, trying new recipes and restaurants, watching movies, and traveling.

For more information about my research, teaching, and service experiences, please visit my website at www.jamieoslawskilopez.com or contact me at jloslaws@indiana.edu.